Plan: Available: All plans
Users: Available: All users
Practice Management Source: Available: All sources
When you select I am finished editing, if you still have the document open, or if OneDrive is taking a long time to sync, you will see the message "This file is locked by OneDrive. Your document might be open, or OneDrive is taking a long time to sync".
Check if the relevant document is open and, if so, close it and the sync will refresh automatically.
FYI will keep trying until it can complete the sync, which means you should never lose any data from your changes.
Once editing has been force stopped, the Activity section of the Document drawer will display the time, date, and name of the user that forced the stop edit.
Force stop editing of a locked OneDrive document
There may be instances where an Office document becomes locked by OneDrive when you select I am finished editing and this OneDrive lock lasts much longer than it would normally. This is caused if OneDrive has the document locked when FYI attempts to import and move the document.
If it is the case that the document is locked by OneDrive, you have the option to Force stop editing.
Selecting Force stop editing displays a message as in the following. The message shows the last date and time of the document version that FYI was able to re-import from OneDrive.
Selecting OK on the Force stop editing re-imports the document so you are no longer editing it.
The document will include any changes made up to the date and time shown in the message.
You will need to manually delete the affected file from your FYI - My Edits folder.
Important notes
- Once the editing has been stopped by Selecting OK, you will need to manually delete the relevant file from your FYI - My Edits folder.
- Always check if the document is genuinely locked because it is open elsewhere. When this is the case, using the Force stop editing function is not appropriate and this could lead to some changes being lost.
- Where OneDrive has not synced the most recent document version, you can Upload the correct version after the Force stop editing has been done.
Prevention
- You can use FYI Desktop to edit files locally and this prevents this issue with OneDrive. It also provides other benefits.
- Alternatively, our testing has shown that saving the Office document on the desktop after any final changes (using Ctrl+s) prevents the issue.
If this method does not work this is likely caused by more fundamental sync issues with OneDrive.
If you get the message "File currently in use, close the file and try again", this means that the document is currently open in Office or the PDF editor. Close the file and select Finished Editing again.
Force stop editing in FYI Desktop
There may be rare instances where a document has been edited in FYI Desktop and cannot sync with FYI.
- Editing the document on a computer that does not have FYI Desktop installed.
- Using a different computer and the document is still being edited using FYI Desktop on another computer.
- The file is large, and cannot be synchronised back to FYI using FYI Desktop.
If this happens, you will be able to force the editing of the document to stop in FYI. Note this may result in losing changes to the document.
FYI will only display the Force Stop Editing option after a 3.5 minute delay, to allow time for documents to synchronise.
- In FYI, open the drawer for the document.
Under the Syncing with FYI message, you will see the Force stop editing button. - Select the Force stop editing button.
A confirmation displays. - Select OK.
- An entry will be added to the Activity section of the drawer to show the date and time, and the user that force stopped the edit.
If a large file cannot be finished using FYI Desktop, upload the file as a new version using the Document Upload process.