Finish editing documents

Plan: Available: All plans 

Users: Available: All users

Practice Management Source: Available: All sources

Editing documents locks them to you, so that no other user can make changes. When your editing is complete, you need to close it and mark the document as finished. FYI then synchronises your changes, creates a new version, and makes the document available to users for editing.

Documents are automatically marked as Finished Editing and synchronised back into FYI after 2 weeks of inactivity (excluding documents in Co-Edit).

Finish editing in FYI

You can finish editing a document in a number of different places.

From the drawer in Microsoft Office
  1. Click on the FYI Add-in icon to open the drawer.
     
  2. Select I am finished editing.
     
  3. Close the document in the Office application to complete the sync with FYI.
From the drawer in FYI
  1. Close the document.
     
  2. From a document list in FYI, select the Document to open the drawer.
     
  3. Select I am finished editing. The Document drawer closes automatically
    003_I_am_Finished_Editing.gif
From My Edits
  1. Close the document.
     
  2. In FYI select Home then My Edits.
     
  3. Select the checkbox next to the document.
     
  4. In the toolbar, select Finish Editing
    003_Finish_Editingl.gif
From a documents list

You can also stop editing directly from a Documents list.

  1. Locate the document in a Documents list.
     
  2. Select the Document being edited icon next to the date.
    470a Stop Editing.gif
  3. In the Stop Editing pop-up, select Stop Editing.
    471 User Stop Editing.gif
In FYI Desktop

After making your changes, save and close the document in Office or your PDF editor before finishing editing in FYI Desktop.

  1. In the FYI Desktop window, select the vertical ellipsis icon.
     
  2. Select Finished Editing.
     
  3. FYI Desktop synchronises the document with FYI and removes it from the FYI Desktop window.
    1619 FYI Desktop Window Finished Editing.gif

FYI Desktop has a file size limit of 250 MB when uploading or checking in documents. For larger files, upload a new document version in FYI.

If you have a document locked for editing and can't check it in, an FYI Admin can check in the locked document.

Finish Co-Editing a document

Documents that are being Co-Edited can be finished by selecting Finish Client Co-Editing. This can be done for individual documents by the user who initiated the Co-Edit or an FYI Admin, or for multiple documents using the Finish Co-Editing Automation Process step.

To finish co-editing for a single document:

  1. Select the document in a list.
     
  2. In the drawer, click Finish Co-Editing.
    1058_Finish_Co-editing.gif
  3. Click Yes to confirm.
    760_Co-Edit_Finish.gif
  4. The updated document is added as a new version in FYI. This automatically creates the audit trail and, if needed, allows you to restore earlier versions.

If you need to co-edit the document again, follow the steps in Co-edit internal documents.

After you Finish Editing documents

After finish editing, the following changes take place:

715_Syncing.gif

  • The document synchronises with FYI.
  • The Document being edited icon no longer displays.
  • The document is unlocked, to allow other users to edit the document if required.
  • The document is removed from your My Edits.
  • For documents edited using OneDrive, FYI removes the copy from your FYI - My Edits folder.
  • For Office documents, FYI creates a new version, allowing you to view and restore earlier document versions.
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Stay Up-To-Date

  • Events

    We host a range of product demos, training webinars, workshops and more.

  • Service Status

    Check for updates on the FYI Platform

  • What's New

    Round-up of new features, fixes, and other important announcements.