Plan: Available: All plans
Users: Available: All users
Practice Management Source: Available: All sources
You can delete documents from any Documents list in FYI. When you delete a document from a Documents list in FYI, it can usually be restored until an FYI Admin permanently deletes it.
However, unfiled documents deleted from the In Tray are permanently deleted and can’t be restored.
Before you begin
Restrictions on deleting documents
Documents displaying any of the following icons can’t be deleted using the standard delete function, and won't display the Delete button:
| Icon | Meaning |
| The document is being edited. Hover your cursor over the icon to identify who is editing it. | |
| The document is being co-edited internally. | |
| The document is being co-edited with a client. | |
| The document has a read-only workflow status. An FYI Admin can use Bulk Update to delete these documents. |
Finish editing the document, or change its Status in the Workflow section to an editable status, where your Approval Level permits.
For practices on the Elite plan, invoice and credit note documents can’t be deleted.
Unshare documents from New Collaborate
For practices using New Collaborate, documents must first be unshared from New Collaborate before being deleted from FYI. If a document is deleted before being unshared, the document remains available on the New Collaborate site.
Deleting documents
From a Documents list
- Select the checkbox next to each document you want to delete from a Documents list.
- Select Delete from the toolbar.
- Confirm the deletion.
Alternatively, for a single document, right-click the document and select Delete from the toolbar menu.
Tasks associated with the document remain in FYI. After the document is removed overnight, the task’s Activity section records that the associated document was deleted.
Bulk Update
An FYI Admin can use Bulk Update to delete multiple emails and documents.
This includes documents locked by a workflow status of Completed, Approved, Pending Client Signature, or Client Signed. Documents being edited or co-edited can’t be deleted using Bulk Update.
Automation Process
Documents can be deleted using the Alter Document step in a custom process.
Permanently deleting documents
When a form’s workflow status changes to Finished, the form is permanently deleted and automatically converted to PDF.
Only FYI Admins can permanently delete documents using the Deleted view. Once permanently deleted, a document can’t be restored.
- Select Documents, then select Deleted from the view drop-down. The list displays deleted documents.
- Select the checkbox for the document to be deleted. Alternatively, select Select all from the drop-down next to the checkbox in the column heading to select all documents in the list.
- Select Permanently Delete from the toolbar.
- A confirmation prompt displays. Select Yes to permanently delete the documents.
The documents are permanently deleted.
An alert is added to Practice Activity with the number of documents deleted, the user who requested the deletion, and the date and time.