Bulk update document filing details

Plan: Available: All plans 

Users: Available: All users

Practice Management Source: Available: All sources

You can use the Bulk Update to make changes to multiple documents in a document list at the same time.

Using Bulk Update in your In Tray is useful if you want to change the Owner or Workflow Status of a document without filing it. Changing the Owner of a document without filing it adds it to the In Tray of the new owner, and it will also still be included in the In Tray of the original owner.

Using Bulk Update

  1. Select the documents you want to update by applying filters or views, and using the checkboxes in the list. At least one document must be selected before Bulk Update is available.
     
  2. Select Bulk Update in the toolbar. Or right-click and select Bulk Update from the toolbar pop-up menu.

    The Bulk Update Drawer displays.

    All users

    The following is an example of the fields displayed for all users.
    1590_Bulk_Update_initial_screen.gif

    FYI Admins

    The following is an example of the fields displayed for FYI Admins only on the Pro or Elite plans, including the Delete option.

    1486_Bulk_Update_Delete.gif

  3. Update the filing details you want to apply to the selected documents. If you don't change a field, the original value is retained. The field will display a message that an option has not been selected.
    431_Bulk_Update.gif 
  4. Select Run. A message displays to confirm the update request has been scheduled.

    2146_Bulk_Update_Documents.gif

An FYI Admin, or a user in a User Group that has Permissions enabled for Automations or Practice Activity, can select the link to go directly to the Practice Activity or to the Automation History. This allows you to check the progress and see when the update has been completed. From the drawer of an item in Practice Activity you can select Go to Automation History.

2217_Practice_Activity_for_Bulk_Update_with_Automation.gif

Filing details

Field Details
Client Select the cabinet that applies to the document. Once a document has been filed, you can't remove a client, though it can be replaced. 
Cabinet Select the cabinet this document applies to. Some cabinets are only available to specified user groups. Once selected, the cabinet may display additional categories, for example, year or work type. Categories may be required fields, depending on the cabinet.
Job If enabled, select the job this document is related to so you can access the document from the Jobs workspace.
Filing

You can set the Filing status as Draft, Filed, or, if enabled, Archived. 

  • Draft: Sets the documents as unfiled and moves them to the owner's In Tray for review.
  • Filed: Files the document at the same time as updating any filing details. This is not available if documents are in the In Tray and do not have the required filing details added.
  • Archived: Requires AutoArchive Documents to be enabled in your practice. This moves the selected documents to the Archived view in documents lists.
Owner Allows you to change the owner of the document to another staff member.
Workflow Status Update the status of the documents to progress them to the new stage or move them back in the Workflow.
Approver Change the staff member who approves documents in the Pending Approval status.
Delete Displays for FYI Admins only (see below). Allows you to delete multiple documents.
Add Category Update selected categories for the documents, for example, Year. Select a category from the list to add the field.
This is useful, for example, if the documents you want to change have different Cabinets, but you want to change the setting for a Category that is used by all these Cabinets, such as the Year. 
Add additional Categories to update multiple Category values at the same time.
Apply To Lets you change the update from the selected documents to the currently filtered documents (up to 10,000).

Deleting documents using Bulk Update

An FYI Admin can use Bulk Update to delete multiple documents.

  • This will delete documents that are locked with a Workflow Status of Completed, Approved, Pending Client Signature, or Client Signed.
  • This will not delete documents that are being edited, including documents in Co-edit.
  • For practices on the Elite plan, this will not delete Invoice and Credit Note documents.

Documents deleted with Bulk Update can be displayed and recovered in the Documents list using the "Deleted" view (refer to Deleting Documents and Recovering Deleted Documents).

  1. Apply any filters and select the documents you want to delete.
  2. Select Bulk Update.
  3. In the Bulk Update drawer, select Delete. This locks all the other fields.
    1486_Bulk_Update_Delete.gif
  4. Review the Apply to field to confirm the correct number of selected documents displayed. Click the drop down to change the selection to the filtered documents.
  5. Select Run.
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 2 found this helpful

Stay Up-To-Date

  • Events

    We host a range of product demos, training webinars, workshops and more.

  • Service Status

    Check for updates on the FYI Platform

  • What's New

    Round-up of new features, fixes, and other important announcements.