Troubleshooting New Collaborate using Status Check

The New Collaborate Status Check verifies that settings and permissions are correct, and assists users with diagnosing and rectifying issues where possible.

This feature is available:

  • In the Collaborate app settings to check general configuration and permissions.
  • On each client's Sharing Settings window to check permissions for individual guest users.

If you experience any issues with New Collaborate, we recommend running the General Status Check option before continuing to troubleshoot further.

General Status Check

  1. From FYI, click the Automation menu option.
  2. Go to the Apps tab.
  3. Locate the Collaborate tile and click the cog icon to edit it.

    2570_Collaborate_Tile_Automation_App.gif
    The Collaborate window displays.

  4. Click Status to commence the verification process.

Each configuration step requires a Status of a green tick. The verification may take a few minutes to complete and displays "Fetching..." during this process.

 

2656_Collaborate_Status.gif

Where the icon is a red cross, and an action is required to rectify the error. A message is displayed with a short explanation, for example, "Microsoft Group not applied to the Document Library. Click Update SharePoint Access to resolve."

Follow the instructions or links to resolve the error. More details on common errors can be found in New Collaborate Status Check Errors. An entry will be added to Practice Activity to show when changes have been made and errors recorded. 

If a specific Microsoft Group has been selected in the Collaborate settings, the names of the members of the configured group will be displayed. If a group has been selected but there are no users assigned to the group, "This group has no members" will be displayed. If Collaborate has been configured to use the default group "Everyone except external users" the status will display "Users: All internal users".

If the General Status Check is displaying all green ticks, however you continue to experience issues please contact our Support team for further assistance.  

If you continue to experience issues sharing documents with clients or your clients cannot access what has bee shared with them, please continue through to the relevant section below.

Client Sharing Settings Status Check

Issues Sharing with Client

You can also check the status of an individual guest user, to ensure they have the correct permissions.

  1. Display the Client - Collaborate tab for the relevant client.

  2. Click Sharing Settings to display the Sharing Settings pop-up.

    1485_Sharing_Settings_button.gif
  3. The list of users will be displayed.

  4. When you first open the pop-up, the Status Check will automatically validate the user permissions, and display a loading bar at the bottom of the button.

    In the image below, the validation is underway and the Status Check bar will gradually fill with green as the checks are performed.

    3226_Share_Folder_Status_Check_loading.gif

  5. Click the Status Check button to re-validate the user if required.

  6. Click the Status Check arrow to expand the user settings, to view more detail on their permissions. 
    3226_Share_Folder_Status_Check_details.gif
  7. Refer to Practice Activity for more details on reported errors.

If the issue you are experiencing has not been resolved after completing the Sharing Settings Status Check, please refer to the following articles:

If you continue to experience issues, please contact our Support team for further assistance.  

External Client Access Issues

If your client is experiencing issues accessing or uploading documents, please refer to the following section.

If you continue to experience issues, please contact our Support team for further assistance.  

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful