Completing your Initial Setup of FYI

In order to complete your initial setup of FYI, you will need to:

  1. Review and confirm the User Groups you will need in FYI and set up any new groups that may be required.
  2. Confirm all Active Users, assign them to a relevant Cabinet and Permission Group and add relevant profile information for each user.
  3. Complete the setup of your FYI account.

Setting up User Groups

User Groups define access to cabinets and permissions in FYI and are assigned to users. This defines which document and administration functions each group of users can access. An FYI Admin can update and add user groups, and assign these to specific users.

User groups can be set up to contain settings for Cabinet Groups or Permission Groups, or both – which displays as All.

Cabinet Groups determine the Cabinets that users can access in order to view and store documents. Whilst Permission Groups represent functions in FYI such as access to create Templates and Automations, and save Views.  

To get you started, FYI provides default User Groups with the following structure:

  • Standard Users
    • Access to all cabinets except for Partner Files and Practice Admin
    • No access to permissions
    • Access to all clients unless Client Security is enabled for specific clients
    • No access to Practice Settings
  • Practice Admin
    • Access to all cabinets except for Partner Files and Practice Admin
    • Access to all permissions
    • Access to all clients unless Client Security is enabled for specific clients
    • No access to Practice Settings
  • Admin (for your FYI Admins).
    • Access to all cabinets
    • Access to all permissions
    • Access to all clients
    • Access to Practice Settings

You can configure additional User Groups and Permission Groups as required. For example, you may wish to set up a User Group for Partners who may need access to a Cabinet that will hold sensitive information; and a Permission Group for your Admin team to create and edit Templates and documents stored in Knowledge Cabinets.

What’s Next?

Before Going Live with FYI, we recommend that you review your User Groups settings.  Where appropriate configure any additional User Groups and ensure these are attached to the relevant user profiles in FYI. 

Refer to Managing User Groups.

Confirming Active Users

When you connect your practice management software, users will be imported and set to the relevant status. For practices syncing with Xero Practice Manager, current staff will be set as Active Users in FYI. 

You can create users directly within FYI if required, for example, for your IT support person.

It is important to consider the following to ensure User profiles are setup for Day 1:

  • Assign the relevant Cabinet and Permission group.
  • Complete user details such as Role and Qualifications.  These details, where applicable, will be inserted to your practice default email signature when creating emails within FYI.  
  • Select the name of the Partner associated with the user.  This allows the user to select the Show documents of Client for My Partner within FYI and display documents for all Clients that are assigned to the partner
  • Assign user approval levels and filing defaults, where necessary.  Refer to Workflow Basics.
  • If required, set the filing defaults for the user. Refer to Applying Your Filing Defaults 

What’s Next?

Review your FYI users to ensure they are:

  • Flagged with their correct status of Active or Inactive
  • Assigned to their relevant Cabinet and Permission Group to finalise their document security permissions
  • Updated with relevant profile information including Role, Qualifications, Email Signature, Partner, Default Cabinet and Approval Level.
  • When the platform setup is complete, invite them to FYI.

Refer to Managing Users.

Completing the Setup of your FYI Account

To ensure FYI transitions from your trial period through to go-live smoothly, confirm or update your billing details. All plans are billed monthly in advance.

What’s Next?

Check or update your billing details via the Accounts tab in  Practice Settings - General - Account.

For details on maintaining Users, User Groups and Account details, refer to the section Practice Settings Admin.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful