Archiving documents

Plan: Available: All plansĀ 

Users: Available: All users

Practice Management Source: Available: All sources

Archiving client documents helps keep your document lists organised and focused on current work. For example, as part of regular housekeeping, you can archive older documents that are no longer needed for day-to-day work while keeping them available for future reference.

You can archive documents while the client remains active, using Bulk Update or an Automation Process. When a client is archived, FYI can also automatically archive their documents.

Archived documents are removed from active document views but remain accessible by selecting the Archived view in the main Documents list or on the Documents tab in the Client workspace.

You can also restore archived documents if you need to return them to active document views.

Using Bulk Update

You can use Bulk Update to archive multiple documents for active clients.

For example, you can archive documents for a specific Year category after the required retention period has passed.

Bulk Update can be run against a maximum of 10,000 documents at one time.

To archive documents:

  1. Open the Documents list, or select the Documents tab in the Client workspace.
  2. If required, filter the document list by a category, such as Year.
  3. Select the documents you want to archive.
  4. Select Bulk Update from the toolbar. Alternatively, right-click the selected documents and select Bulk Update.
    3579_Bulk_Update_Button.png
  5. Set Filing to Archived, then select Run.
    1733_Bulk_Update_Filing_Archived.gif

Using an Automation Process

Creating custom processes is available on the Pro and Elite plans to FYI Admins and users in a User Group with Automations permissions.

To archive documents on a schedule, create a custom process using a document view as the process filter and a scheduled trigger. In the Alter Document step, expand the Filing section and set the Filing field to Archived.

For example, you can use a document view to select documents that have passed the required retention period and archive them on a scheduled basis.

A document view filter in a custom process can include up to 5,000 records.

1852_Alter_Document_Step.gif

AutoArchive Documents for archived clients

AutoArchive Documents is enabled by default. An FYI Admin can manage the setting in the document practice settings.

If AutoArchive Documents was disabled, re-enabling the setting automatically archives documents for clients that already have a Status of Archived.

If AutoArchive Documents is enabled in the Documents practice settings, when a client is archived, FYI automatically archives the client's documents.

AutoArchive runs overnight. FYI sets each document's Filing status to Archived and adds an entry to the Activity section of the Document drawer. Archived documents appear in the Archived view in the Documents lists.

1755 Archived View.gif

To file a new document or email to a client who is already archived, refer to filing documents to archived clients.

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 2 found this helpful

Stay Up-To-Date

  • Events

    We host a range of product demos, training webinars, workshops and more.

  • Service Status

    Check for updates on the FYI Platform

  • What's New

    Round-up of new features, fixes, and other important announcements.