Plan: Available: All plans
Users: Available: All users
Practice Management Source: Available: All sources
Archiving client documents removes them from active document views while keeping them available for historical reference.
Once a document is archived, it's removed from general views, such as the Active view, but can still be accessed by selecting the Archived view in document lists. The Bulk Update feature can be used to unarchive documents if required.
The Archived view is available in the main Documents list and on the Documents tab in the Client workspace.
AutoArchive Documents
With AutoArchive Documents enabled, you can:
- Automatically archive documents when a client is archived
- Use Bulk Update to archive documents for active clients
- Create an Automation Process to archive documents on a scheduled basis
AutoArchive Documents is enabled by default. An FYI Admin can manage the setting from the practice settings for documents.
If AutoArchive Documents was disabled, re-enabling the setting automatically archives documents for clients that already have a Status of Archived.
When a client is archived in your practice management software and synchronised to FYI with a Status of Archived, FYI automatically archives the client's documents.
AutoArchive runs overnight. Archived documents display in the Archived view from the following morning.
When documents are archived:
- The Filing status is set to Archived, and an entry is added to the Activity section of the Document drawer.
- The documents are displayed in the Documents lists by selecting the Archived view.
Using Bulk Update
Multiple documents can be archived using Bulk Update.
This allows you to archive documents for active clients and can be used, for example, to archive all documents for a specific Year category after the required retention period has passed.
To archive the documents:
- Open the documents list.
- Filter the document list by the required category, for example, Year.
- Select the documents you want to archive.
- Select Bulk Update.
- Set Filing to Archived, then select Run.
Bulk Update can be run against a maximum of 10,000 documents at one time.
Creating an Automation Process
This option is available to practices on the Pro or Elite plans and to FYI Admins or users with the required User Group permissions.
To automatically archive documents on a schedule, create a custom process that uses the Alter Document step. For example, schedule the process to archive documents after the retention period has passed.