The client name and client details in FYI are maintained via your practice management software, including the user assigned as the client's Manager or Partner. Any changes are synced to FYI.
Changes to the client name include changes to the capitalisation used in the name (such as if JOE SMITH is changed to Joe Smith). All documents for the client will then be shown under the new client name.
Each client has a unique URL used to link the client to the document. This URL is not displayed in FYI and cannot be changed in your practice management software.
Note: For details on when the synchronisation across from your practice management software happens refer to Synchronising Clients, Staff, Jobs, Time, Tax Returns with Xero Practice Manager, Synchronising Clients, Users, Jobs and Tax Returns with GreatSoft and Integration with Generic Practice Management Software.
To update the client immediately you will need to perform a manual synchronisation.
Refer to Running a Manual Sync with Xero Practice Manager and Additional Notes on Syncing and Running a Manual Sync with GreatSoft and Additional Notes on Syncing.