How the Client accesses the Shared Folders

Support has now ended for Legacy Collaborate.

To upgrade to New Collaborate, refer to Upgrading to New Collaborate.

The following describes what the external user sees and does when they receive an email with the link to the Share Folder and Upload Folder. Refer also to Introducing Shared Folders to your Clients and Sample Email for Practices.

Client Receives Email with Invitation to Open Share Folder

When the client, their contact or another user receives the email, they click on the link in the email to access the Share Folder.

1099_Client_receives_Shared_Folder_Email.gif

Note: If the client does not receive the email, emails from OneDrive are sometimes seen as spam. Ask the client to check their spam or junk folder and to mark the email so it is not spam/junk in the future. The verification code that the client requests from Microsoft to access the folder may also be sent to their spam/junk. Refer also to Collaborate using OneDrive - Errors clients may receive when accessing secure links.

 

The following steps are a function of Microsoft. If needed, the recipient will be prompted to login to their Microsoft 365 account.

When the recipient clicks the link, a prompt may display to verify the email.

  1. The recipient enters their email address and clicks Next.


    1071_Verify_identity.gif
  • If the user is a Microsoft 365 Business user and they are already logged into their account in an open browser, the folder displays straight away.
  • If they are not already logged in to their Microsoft account, they are prompted to login. Once they login, the folder displays.
  • If the recipient is not a Microsoft 365 Business user, when they enter their email address this sends the recipient an email with a verification code that they enter to access the folder.

Note: The privacy statement that is referred to in the Verify Your Identity pop-up is controlled by your Microsoft 365 privacy settings. If you wish to update these, you need to have your Microsoft 365 administrator or external IT consultant update the settings.

Microsoft 365 Business user - Recipient logs in to their Microsoft Account

If the recipient is a Microsoft 365 Business user and they are already logged into their account in an open browser, the folder displays straight away. 

If they are not already logged in to their Microsoft account. they are prompted to login. Once they login, the folder displays.

1549_Share_With_Microsft_Business_User.gif

Note: The recipient enters their password for their account. 

Non Microsoft 365 Business user - Verification Code is Sent to Access the Shared Folders

When a non Microsoft 365 Business user enters their email address and clicks Next, an email is sent to that email address with a verification code.

1550_Verify_your_Identity_Non_Microsft_Business_User.gif

  1. The recipient opens the email to see the verification code.

  2. The recipient enters the verification code that was sent in the email and clicks Verify.

    Note: By checkmarking Keep me signed in, the recipient will be able to access the link to the OneDrive Share Folder in the future without having to verify again.

    1072_Enter_Veririfcation_Code.gif

The OneDrive Share Folder displays as follows.

1022_Collaborate_Client_Access_to_Docs.gif

The person who has been granted access to the Share Folder can save the link and use it in the future to see what has been shared.

Note: Do not advise your clients to bookmark any links in their browser to the folder. The most reliable way to access the folder is using the link in the email. If needed, they can pin or star the email so it is easier to find in the future.

Accessing the Upload Folder

Once a client has access to the Share Folder, they will also see the Upload Folder.

Note: To allow them to upload files, they will need to have first clicked the link to the Upload Folder in the email that you send them (and verify access if prompted).

From the Share Folder, a client can then open the Upload Folder and it displays as follows.

1073_Uploads_Folder.gif

The client can then drag files to the Upload Folder, or use the Upload function to upload selected files or folders.

Note: There is a 500MB limit per file that can be added to the Upload Folder.

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful