Archived clients

Plan: Available: All plans

Users: Not Available: All users Available: FYI Admins or User Group permissions

Practice Management Source: Available: All sources

Archived clients are clients that are no longer active with the practice. Their jobs, documents and tasks remain available in FYI for historical reference.

Archiving a client

Using FYI

This feature requires FYI as Primary for Client Maintenance to be enabled.

Before marking the client as Archived in FYI, complete several steps, including checking for outstanding jobs, invoices and tasks, and reviewing documents. Follow the steps for archiving a client in FYI to complete the process.

After a client has been archived, the client's jobs, documents and tasks are all retained in FYI and will not be removed.

Practice management integrations

Where practices are not using FYI as Primary and use an integrated practice management solution, such as Xero Practice Manager, the client must be archived in the practice management software. During the next synchronisation, the client will then be archived in FYI.

For more information, refer to your integrated practice management solution below:

For practices integrated with Xero Practice Manager, if you have archived the client before disconnecting it from the group, the details cannot be synchronised with FYI, including the fact that they have been removed from a group. It will therefore still show as part of the group in FYI. You will need to:

  1. Unarchive the client in Xero Practice Manager.
  2. Disconnect the client from the group in Xero Practice Manager.
  3. Wait for the changes to synchronise to FYI, or run a manual sync.
  4. Check that the client has been disconnected from the group in FYI.
  5. Then archive the client in Xero Practice Manager, and when the sync has been processed, it will show as archived in FYI and not part of the group.

When clients are merged in Xero Practice Manager, one of the clients is automatically archived. The archived client is also archived in FYI after synchronisation. If required, follow the steps to move documents from the archived client.

Displaying archived clients

Archived clients remain available in FYI for historical reference, including their jobs, documents and tasks. They are not included in the Client search when creating new documents. 

  1. Open Clients to display the Clients list.
  2. In the Status column, select the filter.
  3. Select Archived. To display only archived clients, clear all other status checkboxes. To include active clients, leave Active selected.

Archived clients display a yellow "Archived" label next to the name. Select a client name to open the Client workspace to see the details and access any documents for the archived client.

518_NL_Archived_clients.gif

When viewing the Client Group workspace, archived clients will display "Archived" in yellow next to the Client Name.

3815_Client_Group_Archived_Client.gif

Working with archived clients

Synchronising archived clients

After the initial migration of data when you create your trial, any client that is archived in your practice management platform, for example, Xero Practice Manager, will be updated to archived in FYI.

For practices integrated with Xero Practice Manager, FYI archives the client during the next synchronisation.

If a Job has synchronised from Xero Practice Manager but the client sync is still pending, the Job will temporarily display "Archived Client". Once the client sync has been completed, the job will be updated with the client details accordingly.

AutoArchive Documents

The AutoArchive Documents function is enabled by default and automatically archives the client's documents when the client is archived. AutoArchive runs overnight. Archived documents display in the Archived View from the following morning.

The Filing status of the documents is set to Archived. You can access the archived client documents from the Archived View in document lists.

Migrating to FYI

Synchronising Archived clients from XPM

For practices integrated with Xero Practice Manager, at the time of your FYI trial creation:

  • FYI will bring in only your active Xero Practice Manager clients.
  • Any archived clients will not synchronise with FYI when you create your trial. If you need to sync archived clients to FYI:
    1. Reactivate the client in Xero Practice Manager.
    2. Wait for the client to synchronise to FYI during the next overnight synchronisation, or run a manual synchronisation in FYI if required.
    3. Re-archive the client in Xero Practice Manager. After the sync, the client will show as archived in FYI.

Unmatched clients

For practices integrated with Xero Practice Manager, archived clients are not included when the client list is migrated to FYI at the start of the trial. If historical documents for those clients are imported later, FYI cannot match them to a client and creates an Unmatched client to store the documents.

A client can also be imported as unmatched if it does not match the nominated FYI folder structure. You can resolve unmatched clients individually or use Unmatched Client Import to resolve them in bulk.

To display the Unmatched clients:

  1. Display the Clients list on the Clients workspace.
     
  2. Apply a Filter to the Status column.
    You can either filter only on "Unmatched", or you can include these with the "Active" clients.

    The Clients list includes unmatched clients, which display Unmatched next to the Client Name.

Before archiving an unmatched client, you can update its name from the Summary tab in the Client workspace. This can be useful when clients are imported as part of the migration, and they have been imported as Client Codes instead of names.

If an archived client in Xero Practice Manager has the same name as an active client, follow the guidance for duplicate archived and active clients.

Restore an archived client

Archived clients can be restored, for example, if the client returns to the practice. The process for unarchiving the client varies depending on whether you have a practice management platform integrated with FYI.

Follow the steps to restore an archived client.

Deleting archived clients

Archived clients cannot be deleted from FYI. This preserves their historical records. However, archived clients will not be displayed in the Active Client List or the Global Search in FYI.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 10 found this helpful

Stay Up-To-Date

  • Events

    We host a range of product demos, training webinars, workshops and more.

  • Service Status

    Check for updates on the FYI Platform

  • What's New

    Round-up of new features, fixes, and other important announcements.