Archived Clients

Once a client has been archived, it will not be included in the Client search when creating new documents.

Note: If a Job has synchronised from Xero Practice Manager but the client sync is still pending, the Job will temporarily display "Archived Client". Once the client sync has been completed the job will be updated with the client details accordingly.

Displaying Archived Clients

  1. Display the Clients list on the Clients workspace.
  2. Click the filter for the Status column.
  3. You can either filter only on "Archived", or you can include these with the "Active" clients.

    The Clients list includes archived clients which display "Archived" in yellow next to the Client Name. You can open an archived client from the Clients list to see the details and access any documents that are stored for that Client.

    The Archived clients display as follows.

    518_NL_Archived_clients.gif

Refer also Saving Documents to Archived Clients.

Viewing Documents for Archived Clients

To view documents for Archived Clients, you will need to first display the archived clients in the clients list. 

Refer to the section Displaying Archived Clients above.

Once the archived client is displayed, click on the Client Name and the Documents tab to access documents stored for that client. 

Archived Clients and Syncing with FYI

After the initial migration of data when you create your trial, any client that is archived in Xero Practice Manager or GreatSoft is picked up by FYI and marked as archived in FYI. This is done during the full synchronisation scheduled to run automatically overnight.

AutoArchive Client Documents

If the AutoArchive Document function has been enabled in your practice (refer to Managing Practice Settings for Documents) when a client is archived in your practice management software, and once the client has synced to FYI and the Status of the client is set as "Archived" in FYI, this will automatically archive all the documents for that client. The Filing status of the documents is set as "Archived" and selected documents will be moved to the "Archived" view in the documents lists. Refer to AutoArchive Client Documents.

Archiving Clients that are Part of a Client Group

For practices integrated with Xero Practice Manager, if you need to archive a client that is part of a Client Group

  1. First disconnect it from the group in Xero Practice Manager.
  2. Sync this change to FYI.
  3. Then archive the client and sync again.

Refer to Synchronising Clients, Staff, Jobs, Time, Tax Returns with Xero Practice Manager and Running a Manual Sync with Xero Practice Manager and Additional Notes on Syncing.

For practices integrated with Xero Practice Manager, if you have archived the client before disconnecting it from the group, the details cannot be synchronised with FYI including the fact they have been removed from a group. It will therefore still show as part of the group in FYI. You will need to:

  1. Unarchive the client in Xero Practice Manager.
  2. Disconnect the client from the group in Xero Practice Manager.
  3. Sync this change to FYI.
  4. Check that the client has been disconnected from the group in FYI (you may need to wait overnight to allow the full sync to process).
  5. Then archive the client in Xero Practice Manager, and when the sync has been processed, it will show as archived in FYI and not part of the group.

Merged Clients in Xero Practice Manager

For practices integrated with Xero Practice Manager, if you have used the merge clients feature in Xero Practice Manager to merge clients and which will automatically archive one of the clients, this will archive the client in FYI. For information on how to move the documents from the archived client refer to the FAQ How do I merge Clients where one has been archived in Xero Practice Manager?

Deleted Client Groups

For practices integrated with Xero Practice Manager, deleting a Client Group in Xero Practice Manager removes the Group in FYI when the clients are synced.

Archived Clients in Migration

For practices integrated with Xero Practice Manager, at the time of your FYI trial creation:

  • FYI will bring in only your active Xero Practice Manager clients.
  • Any archived clients will not synchronise with FYI when you create your trial.
    If you need to bring any archived clients into FYI -
    1) First re-activate the client in Xero Practice Manager.
    2) Waiting for at least 24 hours for the client to sync to FYI.
    3) Re-archive the client in Xero Practice Manager and after the sync, the client will show as archived in FYI.

Unmatched Clients in Migration

For practices integrated with Xero Practice Manager, when you begin your trial with FYI and your client list is migrated, this does not bring in any of your archived clients. However, when you import your documents (from your historical document store) if there are any documents related to archived clients in Xero Practice Manager, these will be imported but will not match to a client in FYI. The FYI import will create these unmatched clients as Unmatched Clients in FYI and the documents are stored under unmatched client names.

Also, if any Clients in Xero Practice Manager do not match your nominated folder structure for FYI, the clients and documents are imported under the unmatched client names that are created in FYI by the import function. Refer to Resolving Unmatched Clients and Unmatched Client Import.

To display the Unmatched clients:

  1. Display the Clients list on the Clients workspace.
  2. Apply a Filter to the Status column.
    You can either filter only on "Unmatched", or you can include these with the "Active" clients.

    The Clients list includes unmatched clients which display Unmatched next to the Client Name.

The name of an archived client can be changed in the Client - Summary tab (refer to Client Summary). This can be useful when clients are imported as part of the migration and they have been imported as Client Codes instead of names.

Refer also to the FAQ Why is there a duplication of an archived Client in Xero Practice Manager with the same name as an active Client?

Reinstating an Archived Client

To re-activate a client and associated documents, you will need to:

  1. Unarchive the client in your Practice Management software, for example, Xero Practice Manager.

  2. The client will be reactivated during the next overnight synchronisation. To perform a manual synchronisation, refer to the articles in Apps and Integrations.

  3. The Filing Status of the documents will need to be changed from "Archived" to "Filed". Use the Bulk Update feature to update the documents for that client. Refer to Bulk Updating of Filing Details.

Deleting Archived Clients

Clients cannot be deleted from FYI in order to preserve historical records. However, Archived clients will not be displayed in the Active Client List or the Global Search in FYI. 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 6 found this helpful