Plan: Available: All plans
Users: Available: All users
Practice Management Source: Available: All sources
Co-edit allows multiple FYI users to work on the same internal document at the same time. As users edit the document, their updates are displayed to others, with an indicator showing who is making each change.
To use Co-edit in your practice, ensure it has been set up and configured for your team.
Opening and editing documents using Co-edit
Documents must be opened in Co-edit so they can be edited by multiple users at the same time.
If a document isn't marked for Co-edit, you can mark and open it for Co-edit at the same time.
- Select the document in a Document list.
- From the Edit button drop-down, select Co-Edit. Or right-click and select Edit then Co-Edit from the toolbar menu.
- Select Yes to confirm, and open the document in Co-edit.
- The document is marked for Co-edit (it shows the Co-editing icon in the lists) and opens in the relevant Microsoft 365 for the web application (Word for the web, Excel for the web, or PowerPoint for the web).
- Other users can then select the Co-Edit button, instead of the Edit button, to open and edit the document.
Using Co-edit
The following is an example of a document opened in Word Online.
If another user is editing at the same time that you have the document opened, and you are working in the same area of the document, you will also see any changes being made by the other user as they make them.
A flag displays next to where the other user is working. This displays the initials of the other user for a few seconds.
You can hover over the flag to see the name of the other user who is Co-Editing the document.
As well as any changes to the filing details, the Activity section in the drawer shows the audit trail of which user Co-edited the document and when when Co-editing started and finished.
When the document is Co-edited, a new version is added to the Versions section in the drawer.
Finishing documents in Co-edit
You can finish a document in Co-edit by marking the document as finished editing. This updates the document so that it is no longer marked for Co-edit so you can perform actions on the document, for example, change the Cabinet, or save a new version from the Versions section in the drawer.