Implementors: Refile documents

Plan: Available: All plans

Users: Not Available: All users, User Group Permissions, All users Available: Implementors only

Practice Management Source: Available: All sources

The Refile function updates the FYI filing details of multiple documents. This feature is restricted to FYI Implementors.

Use Refile to:

  • Move existing FYI documents when changing your filing structure, for example, before deleting a cabinet or category. Refile provides an alternative to Bulk Update for changing filing details across documents that match selected Cabinet and Category criteria.
     
  • After migration, you can also use Refile to create unmatched clients that have been imported from folder-based systems.

Documents permanently deleted using Refile cannot be restored.

Refiling requests are only processed overnight from 6 pm to 6 am depending on your location - either Australian Eastern Standard Time or Greenwich Mean Time. Any processes that are still running at 6 am will be completed; all others will be delayed until 6 pm.

To view the status of a refile request, open the Refile Requests tab.

Running the Refile

  1. Log in to FYI with an FYI Implementor user account.
     
  2. From FYI, select Settings in the top right-hand corner.
     
  3. Select Practice Settings and then select Documents.
     
  4. Go to the Refile tab.
     
  5. Select the Cabinet under which the documents are currently filed.
    692_Migrate_Refile_Select_Cabinet.gif
    The 1. Select criteria panel displays all the categories that are applicable to the selected cabinet. You can add or remove categories in Practice Settings when managing cabinets.

    The 2. Refile panel displays all the categories set up for your practice, including those that are part of the document migration.
    703_Refile_Selected_Cab.gif
  6. In the Select criteria panel, select the categories to refile. The number of documents that match the criteria is displayed when you select Get Document Count at the bottom of the panel. Archived documents are included in refile requests.

    You can search for categories by typing the text that is displayed in the list. To search for additional categories, separate the categories with a comma. You can also copy and paste comma-separated values directly into the filter to select the categories.
    1382_Refile_Select_Categories.gif
    Select the tool to the right of the filter, then select Clear the filter, Select to include all displayed values, or Deselect to clear the selected values.
     
  7. In the Refile panel, select how you want the documents to be refiled.

    In the following example, any documents in the Year "2010" or "2011" will be refiled under the Year "Pre 2012".
    704_Refile_Select_Cat_and_Refile_1.gif
    In the following example, selections have been made for both the Year and Admin Type, so only documents with the Year set to "2019" or "2020" and the Work Type of "Correspondence" will be selected. These will be refiled under the Work Type "General Correspondence".
    706_Refile_Select_Cat_and_Refile.gif
    If you need to set the documents in the selected criteria to be filed without a client, you can select Clear Client to enable this. When the documents are refiled, they are filed as blank or "No Client".

    If you need to clear the category, such as Year, from the documents in the selected criteria, select Clear Selection at the bottom of the Categories drop-down list. When the documents are refiled, the selected category will be blank.
     
  8. Select Run Refile.
    Refile requests are only processed overnight from 6 pm to 6 am depending on your location - either Australian Eastern Standard Time or Greenwich Mean Time. Any processes that are still running at 6 am will be completed; all others will be delayed until 6 pm.
     
  9. The Confirm Refile pop-up displays your selections. Select Yes.

The refile request is submitted, and your selections are cleared so you can set the criteria for another refile.

Displaying and using the results of previous refiles

You can view previous refiles from the Refile Requests tab or from the Results section of the Refile tab.

At the bottom of the screen, the Results section shows the refiles that have previously run.

  • Select Results to expand it and display the past refiles. The green tick shows when a refile has been completed. You can use this to check what you have already done.
  • From the Results section, you can also select Replay Refile to load the same settings for Cabinet and Categories as a previously run refile. This is useful when new documents meet the criteria from a previous refile. You can use the same settings or change them as required. Replay Refile is only enabled if a refile has been completed and is not pending or in progress.
  • If a refile has been cancelled, it displays in the Results with a cancelled icon (a circle with a line through it). Cancelled refiles cannot be replayed.
  • FYI also adds an entry to the Activity section of the Document drawer, showing the name of the user who made the refile request.

707a Refile Refresh.gif

Creating unmatched clients after migration

After migration, you can also use Refile to create unmatched clients that have been imported from folder-based systems. Follow Creating and Resolving Unmatched Clients (Folder-Based Systems) in the Live Import guide.

You can then use Resolve Clients on the Clients list to identify unmatched clients and merge or match them with active clients. The Unmatched clients article explains the available resolution options.

Unmatched clients can also be matched to active clients using Unmatched Client Import.

Permanently deleting files

Files can be permanently deleted using the Refile tools. Permanently deleted documents cannot be recovered.

If you're permanently deleting files because of a migration error, wait until the overnight deletion is complete before restarting the Migrate app.

  1. Go to the Refile tab.
  2. Select the Cabinet under which the documents are currently filed.
  3. In the Select criteria panel, select any required categories to identify the files for deletion.
  4. In the Refile panel, select Permanently Delete.
    Permanently Delete.gif
  5. A warning displays to confirm your request. Select Yes to proceed.
  6. Select Run Refile. The deletion is processed overnight.
Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful

Stay Up-To-Date

  • Events

    We host a range of product demos, training webinars, workshops and more.

  • Service Status

    Check for updates on the FYI Platform

  • What's New

    Round-up of new features, fixes, and other important announcements.