Plan: Available: All plans
Users: Available: All users
Practice Management Source: Available: All sources
You can create new PowerPoint presentations directly from within FYI. Select the client and filing information for the document, then select Create to open Microsoft PowerPoint and use all the features of Office to work on your document.
You can also select from a library of templates maintained for your practice. This allows you to create PowerPoint documents with consistent content and layout. The template can also use Merge Fields to populate the document name.
Creating a PowerPoint presentation
- From FYI, select the + button in the menu bar, and select Presentation from the list of document types.
Or, from the workspace, press the shortcut key P for a new presentation.
- The Create Presentation drawer displays on the right-hand side.
The fields that initially display depend on whether filing defaults have been set in your settings or in the practice settings. you select a template, the categories may change if filing defaults have been set for the selected template.
- Enter your document details. When you select the Client, these may change to the filing defaults set for the client. If you select a template, the categories may change if filing defaults have been set for the selected template.
- Select Create. Microsoft PowerPoint opens in your browser or on your desktop, depending on your opening method. You can set the default for how you want to open documents in your profile.
You can now edit your document in PowerPoint. Close the document when finished. Your document is automatically saved and checked into FYI.
Once PowerPoint is closed, you need to let FYI know you have finished editing the document and save any changes to FYI.
Change the delivery status
As PowerPoint presentations are generally not used for correspondence, the Delivery Status is initially left blank.
You can mark the document as Sent using the Send or Delivery - Mark Sent function. This changes the status to Sent.
PowerPoint document fields
| Document details | Action |
| Client | Type at least three characters of the client name to display matching results, and select the required client. |
| Change Addressee | Allows you to send the document to a different addressee, other than the client that it is filed under. Merge Fields populated in the document will be for the client selected as the Addressee. If you select an Addressee, it displays in the details at the top of the Document Drawer after the document is created and can’t be changed. |
| Template |
Select a template to ensure the document uses approved text, format, and layout. Templates may hold AutoFile Defaults for the Cabinet and Categories that are set when the document is created with a template selected, providing the user has access to the relevant Cabinet. Documents created without a template use the default font settings from your Office application. |
| Cabinet | Assign a Cabinet to file the document. Only users with access to the selected Cabinet can view the document. |
| Job | If Jobs are enabled for the selected Cabinet, you can also select a Job for the document. |
| Work Type | Select a Work Type for additional filing, dependant on the Cabinet selected. |
| Year | Select a Year for additional filing, dependant on the Cabinet selected. |
| Tags and Keywords | If the selected Cabinet has been enabled for Tags or Keywords you will see these as additional Categories. You can create or select one or more Tags as additional categorisation. You can enter one or more Keywords that can be used when searching for the document. |
| Name | Enter a name to identify the document internally in lists. If a default name is provided, for example from the selected template, you can change this. |
| Open Method After Creating |
This option only displays if Co-edit is enabled for your practice. Select Edit if you want the document to be locked so you are the only person who can edit it, up until you indicate you have finished editing. Select Co-edit if you want the document to be available for more than one user to work on at the same time. Select Do not open to create the document without opening it. This is useful, for example, when creating a document with a template or if you want to return to it later to make changes. |