Plan: Available: All plans
Users: Not Available: All users, User Group Permissions Available: FYI Admins
Practice Management Source: Available: All sources
FYI Admins can use the Users list in Practice Settings to view and manage active and inactive users, including updating settings such as their permission group or AutoFile mode.
Depending on your practice management source, users can be created directly in FYI or synchronised from your integrated practice management system.
Accessing the Users list
- Log in to FYI as an FYI Admin.
- From FYI, click Settings in the top right-hand corner.
- Select Practice settings from the drop-down, then select General.
- Go to the User tab. The Users list will be displayed.
Users list layout
The Users list displays the Active view by default. User information is organised into columns and rows, making it easy to review and manage user details.
Users list functions
Toolbar
The toolbar provides options for managing the Users list and performing actions on selected users. The available options change depending on whether you have selected users in the list.
| Function | Details |
|
Select all button |
Click the square icon next to the 'View selector'. Once clicked, up to 50 users will be selected by default and will be highlighted with a green tick. |
|
View selector |
Displays the list of User Views available. Default views appear at the top of the View selector with a divider, followed by saved views. |
|
Search users |
Used to filter users. Type in the search terms and press Enter. The rows will be updated to display the matching results. |
|
Unhide inactive users |
By default, the Users list will hide any users that are inactive. Click Unhide inactive users to display inactive users in the list. |
|
Hide inactive users |
Click Hide inactive users to hide the inactive users, and display only active users. |
|
Add |
Used to create a new user in FYI. This button is not displayed when one or more users have been selected in the list. Refer to Creating Users. |
|
Refresh |
Refreshes the Users List to show updated information. This button is not displayed when one or more users have been selected in the list. |
|
View tools |
Allows FYI Admins to save a view, reset the view to the default settings, or export the list to a CSV file. |
|
Bulk Edit |
Allows FYI Admins to apply updates to multiple users at a time, for example, to change the AutoFile mode. Refer to Bulk Update Users. |
|
Send Invite |
Used to send a system-generated email to the user, containing links to log in and instructions for optimising their computer for use with FYI, for example, installing the FYI Add-ins. Refer to Inviting New Users to Start Using FYI. |
|
Cancel |
Deselects users selected in the list. |
Columns
Columns can be added to the Users list to display additional information, or filtered to specific information only.
| Function | Details |
| Adding Columns |
Click the Columns tab on the left-hand side. Columns that are saved in the current view are displayed in alphabetical order. Tick the additional columns to add the Column to the view. |
| List icon |
Hover over the column heading and click the List icon, displayed as an ellipsis. The following options will become available:
Note: Autosizing and pinned columns will reset to default settings upon leaving the list or changing views, unless the view is saved with the changes made. |
| Filter icon |
The Filter icon is displayed as a funnel with three horizontal lines. Click the icon to filter the options as required, or click Reset to return to the default settings. When a column has been filtered, the Filter icon will be displayed in green. Note: If the icon is not displayed, that column cannot be filtered. |
Users List
The Users list displays useful information in columns to allow FYI Admins to easily display and manage users.
| Function | Details |
| Cabinet | Add the Cabinet column to display the Cabinet that has been set as the default for users. This will also display the default Cabinet, which users have set themselves from their individual settings. |
| Displaying Permissions |
The following columns can be added to the view:
|
| AutoFile Mode |
By default, when a user is created, the Autofile Mode is set to Disabled. An FYI Admin can also set this for multiple users via the Users Bulk Update function. Users can also set the AutoFile Mode in their My Settings. |
|
Displays the user's email address. Elite Plan Note: FYI Support users (displayed with the label "Free Account") are temporarily created to investigate support requests and are removed automatically each day. You will not be charged for these accounts. Ensure you leave any FYI Support users active. |
Working with the Users List
Creating new users
Depending on your practice management source, new users can be created directly in FYI or synchronised from your practice management system. There is no limit to the number of users that can be added to FYI.
Refer to Creating Users.
The Send Invitation button displays when one or more active users are selected in the list. This can be used to send an invitation to the user to start using FYI. Refer to Inviting New Users to Start Using FYI.
Editing users
Select a user from the Users list to open the User Profile drawer. FYI Admins can update settings such as the user's status, User Group, Workflow Approval Level and filing defaults.
For practices on the Elite plan, fields in the User Profile drawer can't be edited for a WIP Imported Inactive User.
Refer to Editing Users.
Bulk updating users
When one or more users are selected in the Users list, you can click the Bulk Edit button to change user settings. For example, the default cabinet and categories, the AutoFile mode, or their selected signature.
Refer to Bulk Update Users.
Offboarding and deactivating a user
Before making a user inactive in FYI, complete the required offboarding process, for example, checking for any outstanding documents and tasks, and transferring work to another user.
Refer to Offboarding and Deactivating a User.
Making a user inactive in FYI does not deactivate the user in your integrated practice management system. Where required, deactivate the user separately in that system, for example, Xero Practice Manager.
Learn Dashboard and Admin Learn Dashboard Views
From the View selector in the Users list, you can select the Learn Dashboard or the Admin Learn Dashboard view to display the columns that show the status of each user for each of the FYI Learn courses.
The Status for each user for each course displays as "Not Started", "In Progress", or "Completed".
The Learn Dashboard displays the columns for the courses for standard users.
The Admin Learn Dashboard view displays the columns for the courses for FYI Admin users.
This information is not currently displayed when opening the User Profile drawer.