Editing Client Details

Elite Only.png

Elite plan is currently in Beta for practices in the United Kingdom.

If you are an FYI Admin, or a user in a User Group that has Permissions enabled for Edit Clients (refer to Managing User Groups) you can edit client details in FYI. 

To view and edit information specific to an individual Client, click on a Client Name in a list to display the Client Workspace. The Client Name in any list is a hyperlink to directly display the Client Workspace. Refer to Displaying Information for a Client.

You can also use the Quick Access drop-down for recently used clients (refer to Quick Access to Recently Used Clients and Views).

Edit a Client

Navigate to the Client Workspace - Summary tab for an individual Client, and select the "Edit Client" icon.

3313_Client_Edit_Client_icon.gif

Clicking Edit Client allows multiple fields to be edited. 

3316_Client_Maintenance_edit.gif

To edit Client Details:

  1. Enter or select the new value for the field.
    You can only enter or select a value according to how the field has been defined, for example, as Text, a Checkbox, select from a Drop-down, Number, etc.

    The following is an example of entering the value for a Text Custom Field.
    3317_Client_Maintenance_edit_text.gif
    The following is an example of selecting a value for a drop-down field.

    3318_Client_Maintenance_edit_dropdown.gif
    Note: when FYI is enabled as the Primary Source for Client Maintenance the Tax Number/IRD will be displayed partially masked if synchronised from XPM, but once edited in FYI will display the full value.

  2. Click Save at the bottom of the screen to save the changes made to all the fields and to take it out of editing mode.

    2212_Save_Edited_Custom_Fields.gif

Updates will be synchronised to Xero Practice Manager. The sync time will depend on the field that has been edited. Refer to Synchronising Clients, Staff, Jobs, Time, Tax Returns with Xero Practice Manager.

Note: For practices integrated with Xero Practice Manager, the client will be marked with a 'Pending Sync' tag while waiting for the updates to be synced.  This tag is located beside the Client Details in the Client Summary. Once the updates have synced to Xero Practice Manager, the tag will be cleared.

3034_Client_pending_sync_tag.gif

Clearing Client Detail Fields

To clear values from Fields, either delete or click the X next to the Field as required.
2055_Clear_Date_Custom_Field.gif

Any changes made to Client Details are recorded in the Activity tab of the Client Workspace.

3319_Client_Maintenance_Client_Activity.gif

Bulk Update Clients

Currently, Client Details are not eligible for Bulk Update. The following items can be bulk-updated for Clients when selecting multiple clients in a list:

  • Cabinet
  • Send attachments
  • Manager
  • Partner
  • Include in AutoFile
  • Set Custom Field 

For more on Bulk Update for Clients refer to Clients Bulk Update.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful