Updating Workflow Jobs and Creating New Jobs

Workflow Jobs can be updated in the same way as Billing Jobs. It depends on the permissions you have as a user, and what has been enabled for your practice, which fields in Workflow Jobs you can update. Any changes are shown in the Activity tab in the Job Workspace (refer to Job Activity).

Note: Once enabled, Workflow Jobs cannot be disabled. We recommend reviewing the features of Workflow Jobs to ensure this will be suitable for your practice before enabling the feature.

Workflow Jobs can be updated from the following, but the Name of a Workflow Job cannot be updated.

Important Note: Not all of the changes made to Workflow Jobs in FYI are synced to Xero Practice Manager. For details, refer below to Syncing Changes to Xero Practice Manager.

All Users - Updating the State of a Workflow Job in FYI

All users can update the State of Workflow Jobs.

The State of a Workflow Job can be updated in FYI from the following:

  • From the Job - Summary.
  • From the Job Drawer.
  • By dragging a Workflow Job in the Jobs Board.
  • Using Jobs Bulk Update.
  • Using an Automation Process with an Update Job step.

No updates to the State of a Workflow Job are synced to the associated XPM Task in Xero Practice Manager unless:

  • It is set to one of the Job States that is mapped to a "Cancelled" state in FYI (refer to Managing Job States) when this is synced to Xero Practice Manager the XPM Task is updated as "Complete".
  • It is set to one of the Job States that is mapped to a "Completed" state in FYI, when this is synced to Xero Practice Manager the XPM Task is updated as "Complete".

FYI Admin, or a user in a User Group that has Permissions enabled for Edit Jobs

An FYI Admin, or a user in a User Group that has Permissions enabled for Edit Jobs, can update the Partner and Manager.

The user(s) who are the Assigned users for the Workflow Jobs can be updated using the Custom Fields that have been set up for the Assigned users for Workflow Jobs. This is done in the Job - Custom Fields tab. Refer to Job Custom Fields.

If your practice has Job Cabinet Security enabled in your Practice Settings (refer to Managing Practice Settings for Jobs) you can update the Cabinet for any Workflow Jobs.

For practices integrated with Xero Practice Manager only, you can update the Workflow Job Budget, Start Date and Due Date. The Name cannot be updated for Workflow Jobs. The Budget can be updated for Workflow Jobs but this is not synced back to Xero Practice Manager. Refer to Jobs Bulk Update.

Bulk Update for Workflow Jobs

An FYI Admin, or a user in a User Group that has Permissions enabled for Edit Jobs, can use the Jobs Bulk Update to update the State, Budget, Category, Partner, Manager, Start Date, Due Date and Job Custom Fields for Workflow Jobs. If your practice has Job Cabinet Security enabled in your Practice Settings, the Cabinet can be updated. Refer to Jobs Bulk Update.

Name cannot be updated for Workflow Jobs in FYI.

Completing/Cancelling/Archiving Workflow Jobs

An FYI Admin, or a user in a User Group that has Permissions enabled for Edit Jobs, can set the State of Workflow Jobs as "Completed", "Cancelled" or to an "Archived" State individually from the Job - Summary tab, from the drawer or for more than one Workflow Job using Jobs Bulk Update.

Note: Setting the State of a Billing Job to "Completed", "Cancelled" or an "Archived" State currently does not automatically complete/cancel/archive the Workflow Jobs that relate to that Billing Job. You can use Jobs Bulk Update to update the State of the relevant Workflow Jobs which can be done from the Job - Workflow Jobs tab that displays in the Job Workspace for the Billing Job. Refer to Job - Workflow Jobs tab (for a Billing Job) in Workflow Jobs.

Automation Processes for Workflow Jobs

The State, Category, Budget, Partner, Manager, Start Date and Due Date can be updated for Workflow Jobs using the Update Job step in an Automation Process. If your practice has Job Cabinet Security enabled in your Practice Settings, the Cabinet can be updated. Refer to Update Job in Process Step Details - Updating Clients, Creating and Updating Jobs.

Name cannot be updated for Workflow Jobs in FYI.

Updating Assigned Users

For Workflow Jobs, the Assigned Users are added with Custom User Roles. The Custom User Roles that you want to use for the Assigned Users first need to be set up by an FYI Admin in your Practice Settings - Jobs - Mappings tab before selecting the user's name in the Custom Fields tab of Workflow Job. Refer to Managing Mappings.

An FYI Admin or a user in a User Group that has Permissions enabled for Edit Custom Fields can select the relevant user(s) that are the Assigned users for the Workflow Jobs in the. Job - Custom Fields tab. Refer to Job Custom Fields.

2082_Workflow_Job_Select_Assigned_Users.gif

Note: If the relevant Custom Field has not yet been mapped, and the User is selected for the relevant Custom Field in the Workflow Job, it will not show in the Job - Summary, Assigned shows as "Unknown" and the Workflow Job will not show in the relevant User's Home - My Jobs tab. When this is the case, you need to map the Custom Field, then use Jobs Bulk Update to select the Custom Field that has now been mapped and select the Name of the User you want to apply.

Syncing Changes

For practices integrated with Xero Practice Manager, as the changes are synchronised the number of Xero available requests will be reduced. Refer to Xero Practice Manager Rate Limiting.

For more detail on which fields are synchronised refer to Synchronising Clients, Staff, Jobs, Time, Tax Returns with Xero Practice Manager.

From FYI to Xero Practice Manager

The following is a summary of what can be changed for both Billing and Workflow Jobs in FYI, and what is synced from FYI to Xero Practice Manager.

Update to Billing Job Workflow Job
Job Name Yes

The Name of a Workflow Job cannot be updated.

State Yes

Where you choose a
completed or cancelled
State FYI will autocomplete the XPM Task in Xero Practice Manager

Budget Yes Yes
not sync back to the XPM Task in Xero Practice Manager
Start Date
Due Date
Yes
Updates the Job Schedule
Yes
not sync back to the XPM Task in Xero Practice Manager
Partner
Manager
Yes not sync back to the XPM Task in Xero Practice Manager
User Roles

Yes
Syncs back as a Custom Field

not sync back to the XPM Task in Xero Practice Manager

Category

Yes

N/a

Cabinet

Yes

N/a

Note: The job will be marked with a 'Pending Sync' tag while waiting for the updates to be synced with Xero Practice Manager. This tag is located beside the Job Name in the Job Summary and prevents updates from being overwritten by a user selecting the Sync from PM button. Once the updates have synced to Xero Practice Manager, the tag will be cleared.

From Xero Practice Manager to FYI

The following is a summary of what can be changed for both Jobs and XPM Tasks in Xero Practice Manager, and what is synced from Xero Practice Manager to FYI.

Update to Job XPM Task
Job Name Yes

Yes, the name of the XPM Task can be refined by adding a Label in Xero Practice Manager. This syncs to FYI and updated the name of the Workflow Job. 

State Yes

Where you tick the checkbox to complete the Task in Xero Practice Manager this will sync to FYI and autocomplete the Workflow Job in FYI

Budget Yes N/a
Estimated Time N/a Yes
Start Date
Due Date
Yes No
Partner
Manager
Yes N/a
Assigned (updated in Staff in XPM)

Yes
Syncs back as a Custom Field

Does not sync back to the Workflow Job in FYI

Custom Fields

Yes
(providing the option Sync Custom Fields From XPM is set to "On" in the Xero Practice Manager App in FYI)

No
Custom Task fields do not sync back to FYI.

Category

Yes

N/a

Updating the XPM Task Name in Xero Practice Manager

The name of the XPM Task can be updated in Xero Practice Manager by adding a Label. The text in the Label, preceded by a hyphen, is appended to the XPM Task Name in Xero Practice Manager. If a Label is added or changed in Xero Practice Manager, when the Jobs are synced (automatic or manually) the change is synced to FYI and the Name of the Workflow Job is updated in FYI.

Creating New Jobs

When new Jobs are created in Xero Practice Manager and XPM Tasks are assigned to them, these are synced to FYI as Billing Jobs with their associated Workflow Jobs.

If Jobs are created in FYI (refer to Create Job in FYI) once it syncs to Xero Practice Manager, the XPM Tasks for the Job can be added in Xero Practice Manager. Once the Job is synced back to FYI, the Workflow Jobs are created in FYI.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful