What do I do if the Client Name changes after documents and Share Folders have been shared with the client?

Legacy Collaborate has now been superseded by New Collaborate. 

While users will still be able to select the Default Email Template and share links with clients, all other configuration settings have been disabled. 

To upgrade to New Collaborate, refer to Upgrading to New Collaborate.

Issue
The documents and share folders have been shared with a client and then the client name has been changed. A second folder has been created with the new name which only the OneDrive admin account has access to. 

Cause
There is no way for OneDrive to know the client name has changed. When the client clicked on the Share link or the Upload link after the name change, OneDrive has created a second folder inside OneDrive. There are therefore two folders, one with the original name and one with the new name. 

Solution
If documents have already been shared with client after the name has changed: 

  1. Using OneDrive online, using the Move to function, move the documents manually from the folder with the new client name to the folder with the old client name. The client folders are sub-folder under the top-level folder FYI - Clients.
  2. If there are any documents in the Uploads folder under the new client name, these must also be moved to the Uploads folder under the old client name.
  3. When all documents have been moved, Delete the new client name folders.
  4. Using the Rename function, rename the old folder to be the new client name

The result is that all existing share and document links will still work and any new shares will go to the correctly named OneDrive folder.

 

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful