My Practice is changing our Microsoft 365 Tenant or renaming our domain. What do we do in FYI?

Issue

We are renaming our domain or changing our Microsoft 365 Tenant. What do we need to do in FYI?

Solution

There are various reasons why a practice may need to update the domain or 365 Tenant, for example, if the practice is rebranding.

Our recommended approach consists of the following steps. Click on the links in each section to view detailed instructions.

Step 1 - Finish Editing for All Documents

Any documents that are out for editing should be checked back in by clicking "Finish Editing" or "Finish Co-Edit" etc.

Step 2 - All users update their Xero email addresses

Step 3 - Reconfigure Practice's OneDrive after the migration has completed

This step is only required for Microsoft 365 Tenant changes. 

Step 4 - Reconnect DocuSign Integration with updated account

As DocuSign uses the OneDrive app, you will reconnect the integration once you have updated the Microsoft Tenant or renamed your domain.

Note: This step is only required if using the DocuSign integration, otherwise continue with step 5 below.

Step 5 - Deploy FYI Add-ins

This step is only required for Microsoft 365 Tenant changes. The IT team will need to deploy the FYI Add-ins for all staff.

Step 6 - Configure Collaborate Settings

This step is only required for Microsoft 365 Tenant changes. 

If you are using Legacy Collaborate the existing links to shared folders and documents will be broken, and clients will not be able to access these files.

  • If you are changing the OneDrive Admin Account, you will need to copy all folders across for any documents that are being shared with clients.
  • Any documents that are in Co-edit, you need Co-edit again once moved to the new system. You can check in the practice FYI - Co-Edits folder which documents are still there to determine which need to be Co-Edited again. Co-Editing an External Document (Co-Edit with Client)

If you're using New Collaborate:

  • Verify your Collaborate settings as per the article Configuring the FYI New Collaborate App.
  • Spot-check a variety of clients to ensure their Sharing Settings have not encountered an error (the Sharing Settings will turn red). If the sharing has turned red, you will need to delete the Sharing Settings and re-add the client. Refer to Client - Collaborate Tab.

Step 7 - Update FYI

If required, you can change the Company Name or Billing Email Address from within FYI. Refer to Changing your Plan, Billing Details or Practice Details.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful