Features

How the Client accesses the Shared Document

Support has now ended for Legacy Collaborate.

To upgrade to New Collaborate, refer to Upgrading to New Collaborate.

The following describes what the client sees and does when they receive an email with the link to the shared document.

Client Receives the Email

The client receives the email. The email includes a secure link to each of the documents that were sent. The recipient of the email is the only person who can open this link. If the email has been sent to more than one recipient, all recipients are able to open the document via the link.

1154_Client_clicks_Email_with_Link.gif

  • If the recipient is a Microsoft 365 Business user and they are already logged into their account in an open browser, the document displays straight away.
    If they are not already logged in to their Microsoft account, they are prompted to login. Once they login, the document displays.
  • If the recipient is not a Microsoft 365 Business user, they need to enter their email address. This sends the recipient an email with a verification code that they enter to access the document.

The document is displayed directly from your practice's OneDrive Admin Account. The recipient can only access the specific document and the access is given to that specific user only.

Microsoft 365 Business user - Recipient logs in to their Microsoft Account

From the opened email, the recipient clicks on the link to the document.

If the recipient is a Microsoft 365 Business user and they are already logged into their account in an open browser, the document displays straight away. 

If they are not already logged in to their Microsoft account. they are prompted to login. Once they login, the document displays.

1549_Share_With_Microsft_Business_User.gif

Note: The recipient enters their password for their account. 

Non Microsoft 365 Business user - Recipient Requests Verification Code to Access the Sent Documents

From the opened email, the recipient clicks on the link to the document. A non Microsoft 365 Business user will need to request a verification code.

A message may display prompting the client to verify or enter the email address to send the verification code to.

1150_Client_Requests_Verification_Code.gif

Verification Code is Emailed to the Recipient

If prompted to send a code, when the user clicks Send Code, the verification code is emailed to the user's email address.

1151_Verification_Code_Sent.gif

Recipient Enters Verification Code and Accesses the Sent Documents

The user enters the verification code that has been sent for the specific document and clicks Verify. The document is displayed

Note: By checkmarking Keep me signed in, the recipient will not need to use a verification code to access documents in the future.

1152_Enter_Verification_Code.gif

Note: Do not advise your clients to bookmark any links in their browser to the documents. They must always access the documents using the links. If needed, they can pin or star the emails so they are easier to find in the future.

 

Was this article helpful?
2 out of 16 found this helpful