Changes made to the layout of a list view, such as columns that have been added, sequence of the columns, filters and search criteria, can be saved using the Save View. This saves the layout for the columns on the list and makes it available to all users in your practice.
When a user selects a view, the Sticky Views feature will remember the user's choice for the rest of the session and also when they log out and log in again.
Note: Changes to a column order must be saved to the view to retain the new ordering sequence. If a list does not have a View selector, any changes to the column orders will not be saved. Once the user navigates to a different screen and back again, columns will be reset to the default order.
Overview of Creating Views
- An FYI Admin, or a user in a User Group that has Permissions enabled for Views, can set up new views, change existing views or delete views.
Only an FYI Admin can delete views.
Refer to Managing User Groups.
- Views can be saved from any of the lists (Clients lists, Documents lists, Jobs lists, Tasks lists, Practice lists) and from the List View in Automations - Processes.
- Saving a view is not available from the Home tabs or from the tabs within the Clients or Jobs workspaces.
When saving, you can create this as a new view or modify an existing view.
An FYI Admin can make changes to the standard system views that are installed with FYI (such as Documents - All, Tasks - Incomplete Tasks). A message displays that this is an FYI system view and changes will affect all users. Before changing a system view, consider if the changes apply to all users or if the view should be saved as a new view.
When saving a Documents, Jobs or Clients view, you can specify if the View should be available for Lists and/or Automations.
Lists - Views available for Lists will be included in the View Selector at the top of the List, views not available for Lists will be hidden from users. Refer to Using the Documents Lists.
- Automations - Views available for Automations are displayed in Custom Processes; views not available for Automations will not be available to be selected. Refer to Custom Processes using Views and Summary Notifications.
Note: Views enabled for Automations only will still be displayed in the Lists View Selector for FYI Admins and users in a User Group with permissions enabled for Views.
Creating a New View
Display the view you want to use as the basis of your view. This can be a view that has already been saved for your practice, or a system view such as Documents - All.
- Make any changes to the view such as including additional columns, changing the order or sorting sequence of any columns. You can also enter or select any search criteria (such as a specific Cabinet).
If you want your view to be date related, you can use the Relative Date Range filter (for example, to automatically display results based on This Month, This Week etc).
If you do not want any search criteria, selections for Cabinets etc saved as part of the saved view, ensure these are cleared.
Sorting and Filtering Documents Lists and Adding, Removing and Moving Columns in the Documents Lists.
Sorting and Filtering Clients Lists and Adding, Removing and Moving Columns in the Clients Lists.
Sorting and Filtering Tasks Lists and Adding, Removing and Moving Columns in the Tasks Lists.
Sorting and Filtering Jobs Lists and Adding, Removing and Moving Columns in the Jobs Lists.
- Click the View Tools button which is at the end of the column headings, on the right-hand side of a list.
For Clients lists, the View Tools displays as follows.
For Jobs lists, the View Tools displays as follows.
Select Save view from the View Tools.
Save Document View
The Save view popup displays. The following is an example of the Save document view,
This shows the name of the currently displayed view (which is "All" in the example below).
Save Client View
The following is an example of the Save client view.
Save Job View
The following is an example of the Save job view.
Note: When saving a Jobs list, this will also save the setting for Hide/Unhide the inactive jobs.
Any Filters that have been applied are saved.
When any Search text has been entered in the Search jobs field, the View cannot be saved. A message displays that you should "apply a Filter to any relevant columns and then save the view".
Save Task View
The following is an example of the Save task view.
- Enter the name of the new view by typing over the view name displayed.
- Mark the elements of the view you want to save.
Available For indicates whether the view should be available just for Lists, for Automations, or both. If an option is not selected, the view will be hidden from the View Selector. Unticking the Automations option will hide the view when creating custom processes, and unticking Lists will hide the View from being included in the View Selector on the Lists page. This setting can be updated after the view has been saved. Refer to Managing Views.
Save Column Order, Save Filter Selections, Save Cabinet save the view with the current settings to the layout such as column order and filters or the selected Cabinet.
Save Cabinet is only relevant when saving a Documents list.
Save Advance Search is not relevant when saving a Jobs list.
For other lists, this will save any specific search criteria currently set in the view. If you have changed the width of any columns or entered any search text, Save Advanced Search will save the view with these applied (refer to Using the Documents Lists, Using the Clients Lists, Using the Jobs Lists, Using the Tasks Lists and Using the Knowledge Templates List).
- Click Save and Close.
The view is saved as the new name and is included in the drop-down list of view names at the top of the relevant list.
Your browser is automatically reloaded so the newly created view automatically displays.
Refer also to Sticky Views for information on how to set FYI so that, when a user selects a particular view in any list, that choice will be their default for the rest of the session and also when they log out and log in again.
Note: If you have set the list to show only emails and documents where you are the Owner (with the Mine button) this is also saved as part of the saved view. This is applied for any other users who use that saved view to show only the documents that have their user name as the owner. Refer to Using the Mine Button in Using the Documents Lists.
Note: If you have filtered the Document view by Cabinet and then removed the Cabinet column from your view, when you save a view and select the 'Save Cabinet' option this will save the filter(s) that you applied to the Cabinet column. When redisplaying the saved view this will apply the same filter. If you have applied filters to any Categories (such as Year or Work Type) these are only applied in the saved view if the column is shown and not when it is hidden in the saved view.
Modifying an Existing View
- Display the existing saved view.
- Make any changes as required to the layout and search criteria.
- Click the View Tools button and select Save View to open the Save document view pop-up.
This displays the name of the view you currently have displayed.
- Mark or change the elements of the view you want to save.
- Click Modify Existing.
- If the view is used in any Automation Processes, a message displays as information with the Automations in which is it used.
- To continue saving the view, click Save and Close.
Click a link in the message to display that Process in Automations without saving the changes so you can check the changes will not affect how the Process runs.
If the view is used in more than three Automations, the message displays "nn More"; clicking on the link displays the links to the remaining Automations.
Changing an FYI System View
If you try to make changes to one of the standard system views that are installed with FYI (such as Documents - All, Tasks - Incomplete Tasks) a message displays that this is an FYI system view and changes will affect all users.
Before changing a system view, consider if the changes apply to all users or if it should be saved as a new view.
Note: System views cannot be deleted.
Deleting a Saved View
An FYI Admin can also use the Settings - Practice Settings - General - Views to change or delete user-created Views. Refer to Managing Views.
Note: System views cannot be deleted.