Automation Process Steps

Steps are set up to run a Function for the relevant Application, for example, FYI or Xero Ledger.

Each step contains different settings to be configured, for example, how the document is filed, settings for the workflow, and whether a task or comments are created. 

The settings available will depend on what type of function the Step is doing and as relevant, follow the same options available when creating that type of document directly in FYI. For example:

  • Action (for example, creating an email or document, selecting a template, how to handle attachments).
  • Filing (for example, the name of a document).
  • Workflow (for example, the Owner of the document, an Approver and a workflow status such as "Approved", "Pending Client Signature" or "Client Signed").
  • Task (determines if a Task is created as part of the Step).
  • Comment (determines if a Comment is added to a document which can also send a notification).

For details and examples of how to configure individual Steps, refer to the articles in the section Process Step Details.

Adding a Step

  1. Open the Process and, to add a Step, click the Add Step button.
  2. Click on an Application to display a list of steps available for that application.

    1515_Process_Select_Application.gif
    Choose the Application (FYI Actions or Ledger)

FYI Functions

504_Automation_Step.gif

When FYI Actions is selected as the application, the function can be selected as one of the following:

Step Details
Alter Document The Alter Document Step can be used to change filing details of documents that have been retrieved by the Process or created in the Process (for example, the Filing Status, Cabinet or Workflow settings) or to create a Task or Comment to send a notification.

Refer to Process Step Details - Alter Document
Convert to PDF Converts a document to a PDF file.
Create Email
Create Word
Create Presentation
Create Spreadsheet
Create Meeting
Create Note
Create Phone
To create an Office email, Word, PowerPoint or Excel document, or a Phone Call, File Note of a Meeting in FYI (refer to Create Email, Create Word, Spreadsheet and Presentation and Create Phone, Create Note, Create Meeting in Process Step Details - Creating Documents and Tasks).
Create PDF To create a PDF document using a PDF template.
Create Job This can be used with a Client View process to create a Job (refer to Create Job in Process Step Details - Updating Clients, Creating and Updating Jobs).
Create Task This creates an FYI Task (refer to Task Steps in Process Step Details - Creating Documents and Tasks).
Create Meeting This creates an FYI Meeting.
Delay Delay can be used to set a delay in the process (refer to Delay in Process Step Details - Other Functions). This can be set to a number of hours, days or weeks so that the next Step in the process is not run until that delay is over.
Execute Process This will execute any other Manual process that has been set up in FYI Automation.
Send for Signature Automatically send documents to connected signature services. Depending on the service selected, you can send one or more documents, either as a draft or sent immediately. Refer to Process Step Details - Converting to PDF and Send for Signature.
Share No Email Share a Document via Collaborate or myprosperity without sending an email notification. Refer to Process Step Details - Share No Email.
Stop This can be used to stop a process that is running using a filter or a view and where the underlying selector has changed so that the trigger is no longer applicable. This could be where a change has been made manually. For example, if a process has been set up to select a document, client or jobs using a specific status and this is changed manually while the process is running, that document, client or job would not then be included in the view. Any remaining Steps in the process are then stopped.
Summary Notification This sends out a summary of more than one notification. This Step is only available for a custom process and when a Document, Job or Task view has been selected as a filter. Refer to Custom Processes using Views and Summary Notifications.
Update Client Update Client can be used to update Custom Fields (refer to Update Client in Process Step Details - Updating Clients, Creating and Updating Jobs). For practices integrated with Xero Practice Manager, this will sync the change to Xero Practice Manager. Refer to Client Custom Fields.
Update Job

This can be used to update the Job State, Manager and Partner, State and Due Date, or to update one or more Job Custom Fields on Jobs.

For practices integrated with Xero Practice Manager, the Update Job Step can also update the Name, Budget, Start Date and Due Date.

If Job Cabinet Security is enabled in your Practice Settings, you can update the Cabinet.

Refer to Update Job in Process Step Details - Updating Clients, Creating and Updating Jobs. For practices integrated with Xero Practice Manager, this will sync the changes to Xero Practice Manager.

Update Job is only available for a custom process, and when either a Job View or a Document View is selected as a filter. If using a Document View the Job will only be updated only if the document is assigned to a Job.

Ledger Functions

When Ledger is selected as the application, the function can be selected to import reports from Xero Ledger. This includes the Balance Sheet, Bank Summary, Budget Summary, Executive Summary (in Beta), Profit & Loss, and Trial Balance. Refer to Client Ledger Reports AutoFile (Australia and UK).

504b_Automation_Step_Ledger.gif

myprosperity Functions

For practices that have the integration with myprosperity, when the Custom Process is filtered on a Document View, an additional myprosperity Application displays.

1854_Process_myprosperity_Functions.gif

When myprosperity is selected as the application, the Share Document function can be selected.

Share Document
When a Custom Process uses a Document view as the Filter (refer to Custom Processes using Views and Summary Notifications) the Share Document Step can be used to share a document directly to myprosperity without sending an email.

This is the same as using the Share function for a selected document and selecting Send via as "myprosperity" (refer to Sharing Documents via myprosperity). However, no email is sent when the document is shared via the Custom Process.

This process step would be commonly used to share Client Signed documents with myprosperity. Refer to myprosperity Share Document in Process Step Details - Other Functions.

Note: The client will need to have been created in myprosperity before the document can be sent. For details on how to create a client, refer to Integration with myprosperity.

Editing, Copying, Adding Note, Deleting and Moving Steps

538_Edit_Copy_Delete_Automation_steps.gif

Edit

To edit a Step, click anywhere on the Step, or click the Edit tool next to the relevant Step, and the drawer opens.

2061_Process_Step_Edit.gif

Copy

To copy a Step, click the Copy tool next to the relevant Step. The step will be duplicated below the selected one.

2062_Process_Step_Clone.gif

Add Note

To add a note as a comment to a Step, click the Add Note tool. This can be used to add comments and provide further context, or to provide a description of what the Step does. It can also be used for internal automation audits.

2063_Process_Step_Add_Note.gif

  1. Click the Add Note tool to open a pane in the Step. A Note can be added while the drawer is open or closed.
    2060_Process_Step_Add_Note.gif

  2. Click inside the pane to enter the text for the Note.

    2068_Formatting_Custom_Process_Step_Note.gif
    Formatting such as bold and colours can be added by first selecting text and setting the formatting from the pop-up. Additional formatting can be applied to the text by clicking the + button on the left-hand side of the pane.

  3. Click Save to save the Note and close the pane.

    2069_Formatted_Custom_Process_Step_Note.gif

Delete

To delete a Step, click Delete tool next to the relevant step.

2064_Process_Step_Delete.gif

Move a Step

To move a Step, to change the sequence, you can drag and drop it up or down in the sequence to the new location.

Use the 'move' icon next to the Step number to move it. If you click on any other columns, it opens the respective Step. Steps are automatically renumbered. You cannot change the sequence of a Step to above one that it depends on, that is, where the result of one Step is used in a Step below it.

570_Step_grabber_icon.gif

Resetting a Process

In a Sample Process, clicking Reset will reset the process Steps back to the configuration as initially installed by FYI.

In a Custom Process, clicking Reset clears everything except the Filter.

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 2 found this helpful