Creating and Editing Client Relationships (Beta)

Elite Only.png

If you are an FYI Admin, or a user in a User Group that has Permissions enabled for Edit Clients (refer to Managing User Groups) you can edit client relationships in FYI.

To view and edit relationships specific to an individual Client, click on a Client Name in a list to display the Client Workspace and select the Relationships tab.

Note: For practices on the Pro plan, you will be able to view the Relationship tab, however all Relationships are maintained in Xero Practice Manager. Refer to Client Relationships.

Create a New Client Relationship

To add a new Client Relationship:

  1. Click the + Add button
    3362_Add_button.gif
  2. Select or enter the details for the fields as required. The Type and Related Client fields are mandatory.

    3379_Client_Relationships_Create.gif

    Type
    The Type of Relationship. If Shareholder or Partner is selected, additional fields will be displayed for Percentage and Shares.

    3380_Client_Relationships_Type.gif

    Related Client
    Type at least three characters of the client name to display all clients containing those characters. Then click to select the required client.

    Start Date
    The date the relationship started. This field is optional. Click the field to select the date picker.

    End Date
    The date the relationship started. This field is optional. Click the field to select the date picker.

    Percentage
    This field is displayed if the "Partner Of" Type has been selected. Enter the percentage holding for the partner e.g. Enter "25" for 25%.

    Shares
    This field is displayed if the "Shareholder Of" Type has been selected. Enter the number of shares held by the client.

  3. Click Save.

  4. The relationship will be added for both clients. 

Edit a Client Relationship

To edit an existing Client Relationship:

  1. Navigate to the Client - Relationships tab.

  2. Click on a Relationship in the list. The Relationship drawer will open.

  3. Update the fields as required.

  4. Click Save.

Delete a Client Relationship

When deleting a Client Relationship, both clients will be updated. The relationship will be removed and no longer visible on the Relationships tab.

Note: Deleted Relationships cannot be restored. 

To delete a Client Relationship:

  1. Navigate to the Client - Relationships tab.

  2. Click on a Relationship in the list. The Relationship drawer will open.

  3. Click the Trash icon in the toolbar.

The relationship will be removed from FYI.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful