Error FYI-2167: "Multiple Microsoft Groups have been found in the Collaborate SharePoint site"

Issue

When running the New Collaborate Status Check, the following error is displayed:

  • Multiple Microsoft Groups have been found in the Collaborate SharePoint site. 

Cause

More than one Microsoft Group has been granted access to the New Collaborate site, which can cause conflicts and allow unauthorised users to access the site.

Solution

All Microsoft Groups with access to the New Collaborate SharePoint site will need to be removed from Sharepoint, excluding the Microsoft Group selected in the New Collaborate app settings.

Step 1 - View the selected New Collaborate Microsoft Group

The Microsoft Group selected in the New Collaborate settings is the only group that should not be deleted.

To view the selected Microsoft Group:

  1. In FYI, click the Automation menu option.

  2. Go to the Apps tab.

  3. Locate the Collaborate tile and click the cog icon.

Refer to Set up and Create a New Collaborate Site (New Sites only) or Set up and Create a New Collaborate Site (Upgrade from Legacy Collaborate)

2700 Collaborate Configuration Defaults.gif

Step 2 - Remove all other groups from the New Collaborate SharePoint Site

The following steps will need to be performed as the practice's OneDrive Admin User. For details on how to find which user account this is, refer to Link your OneDrive Admin Account for New Collaborate.

  1. As the OneDrive Admin User, log into the New Collaborate Site.
    Note: Open the New Collaborate site by clicking on the link in the New Collaborate app settings in Automation - Apps.

  2. Click on the Settings cog icon and select Site permissions.
    3232_Collaborate_Site_Site_Permissions.gif
  3. Click the Advanced permissions settings link.

  4. Click the Site Members group. The New Collaborate Site Name will be displayed as part of the name, for example, "Growth Partners Collaborate Site Members".

  5. Tick all of the Groups except the Group in Step 1.

  6. From the Actions drop-down select Remove Users from Group.

  7. From the menu on the left, click the Documents link.

  8. Click the Settings cog icon and navigate to Library Settings - More Library SettingsPermissions for this document library (under the "Permissions and Management" heading).

  9. Tick all of the Groups except the Group in Step 1.

  10. Click Remove User Permissions in the toolbar.

Step 3 - Remove the Microsoft Groups from the SharePoint Site Collection

  1. Click the Settings cog icon and select Site permissions.
    3232_Collaborate_Site_Site_Permissions.gif
  2. Click the Advanced permissions settings link.

  3. Click the Site Members group. The New Collaborate Site Name will be displayed as part of the name, for example, "Growth Partners Collaborate Site Members".

  4. Change the address in the address bar to show MembershipGroupId=0
    3400_New_Collaborate_Site_Members_Group_0.gif
  5. This will open the Site Collection.

  6. Tick the Microsoft Groups in the list to be removed.

  7. From the Actions drop-down select Delete Users from Site Collection

  8. In FYI, re-run the New Collaborate Status Check to confirm the additional groups are no longer detected. Refer to Troubleshooting New Collaborate using Status Check.
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful