Features

Synchronising with Xero Practice Manager where FYI is enabled as the PM Source

Elite Only.png

When using FYI as the Practice Management Solution by enabling Time & Billing, and selecting FYI as the PM Source, creating time entries and invoicing clients will be performed directly within FYI, and not Xero Practice Manager.

As a result, the level of data synchronised with Xero Practice Manager will be reduced, with only specific details being synchronised from FYI. The synchronisation frequency, and the data shared between both systems, is detailed below.

For details on where Xero Practice Manager has been selected as the Practice Management source, refer to Synchronising Clients, Staff, Jobs, Time, Tax Returns with Xero Practice Manager

Note: The Practice Management Source setting should not be confused with enabling FYI as the Primary Source of Client Data. Refer to Enabling FYI as Primary Source of Client Data.

Data Synchronised with Xero Practice Manager

Clients
  Event Automatic Sync Manual Sync
Archived Clients Archive
in FYI
Overnight All users
Archived Clients Archive
in XPM
Overnight All users
Client Details Create and Edit
in FYI

Immediate or Overnight

All users
Client Details Create and Edit
in XPM

Immediate

All users
Client Groups Create and Edit
in FYI

Immediate

All users
Client Groups Create and Edit
in XPM

Immediate

All users
Client Custom Fields Definitions and Values Create and Edit
in FYI

Overnight

All users
Client Custom Field Values Create and Edit
in XPM

Overnight

All users
Jobs

The synchronisation of Jobs with Xero Practice Manager depends on the Job Type, and whether the job was created in Xero Practice Manager or FYI.

  Event Automatic Sync Manual Sync

Standard Jobs

Only the Job Name and Job Status (when closed) is synchronised

Create or Edit
in FYI
Immediate All users

Billing Jobs

Only the Job Name and Job Status (when closed)

Create or Edit
in FYI
Immediate All users
Standard Jobs
(if Workflow Jobs is not enabled prior to migration)
Create, Edit or Delete
in XPM
Immediate All users
Billing Jobs
(if Workflow Jobs enabled prior to migration)
Create, Edit or Delete
in XPM
Immediate All users
Job Templates Create, Edit or Delete
in FYI or XPM
N/A N/A
Job State Create, Edit or Delete
in FYI
N/A N/A

Job State
(must be assigned to an active job in XPM)

Create, Edit or Delete
in XPM
Immediate All users
Workflow Jobs Create, Edit or Delete
in FYI
N/A N/A
Workflow Jobs
(if Workflow Jobs enabled prior to migration)
Create, Edit or Delete
in XPM
Overnight If Maintain Jobs in FYI is set as "Off" in the Xero Practice Manager app
All users
(there could be a delay of 5 to 10 minutes to sync)
Users
  Event Automatic Sync Manual Sync
Users Create and Edit
in FYI
N/A N/A
Users Create and Edit
in XPM
Overnight FYI Admins

Data Not Synchronised with Xero Practice Manager

Once FYI has been selected as the Practice Management Source, the following data will not be synchronised with Xero Practice Manager.

The following data is not synchronised when FYI has been selected as the Practice Management Solution and Time and Billing has been enabled.

  • Xero Practice Manager Tasks used to create Workflow Jobs in FYI
  • Job Templates
  • Time or Disbursements (including deleting time previously synchronised with Xero Practice Manager)
  • Invoices
  • Milestones
  • Billing Entity
    Note: for practices on the FYI Elite plan, an alternative solution is to create Billing and Workflow Jobs in FYI, as Workflow Jobs may be assigned to any client in the group.
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful