Archiving a Client in FYI

Elite Only.png

Elite plan is currently in Beta for practices in the United Kingdom.

When Archiving a Client, before making the client "Archived" in FYI there are several steps that should be completed, for example, checking for any outstanding jobs, invoices, tasks, and reviewing documents.

When Archiving a client, any jobs, documents and tasks are all retained in FYI and will not be removed.

Steps to Archive a Client

Follow each of the steps below before Archiving the client:

  1. Step 1 - Check any Jobs not in Completed State
  2. Step 2 - Check any outstanding Tasks
  3. Step 3 - Review outstanding Time, Disbursements and Invoicing requirements
  4. Step 4 - Review Process History and update any Custom Field details 
  5. Step 5 - Ensure Documents are ready for Archiving 
  6. Step 6 - Review Collaborate sharing settings
  7. Step 7 - Archive Client
  8. If the Client has already been Archived before Completing these steps

Step 1 - Check any Jobs not in Completed State

Navigate to the Client Workspace - Jobs tab, and filter for "Open" jobs. Use Bulk Update to change the Job State to Complete or action as relevant to complete the job. Refer to Jobs Bulk Update.

Where reallocating jobs to a different client needs to occur, select the individual job requiring reallocation to open the Update Job Drawer and select the client to reallocate the Job. Refer to Using the Job Drawer.

Identify any Custom Fields that are used to trigger Custom Processes and remove values against the Fields on Jobs as relevant. Refer to Job Custom Fields.

Step 2 - Check any outstanding Tasks

Navigate to the Client Workspace - Tasks tab, and filter for all "Incomplete" tasks for the client. Use Bulk Update to change the Status to Complete or action as relevant to complete the tasks. Refer to Tasks Bulk Update.

Where reallocating tasks to a different client needs to occur, select the individual task requiring reallocation to open the Update Task Drawer and select the client to reallocate the Task. Refer to Using the Task Drawer.

Step 3 - Review outstanding Time, Disbursements, and Invoicing requirements

Navigate to the Client Workspace - Time tab, and filter for any un-invoiced time and disbursements for the client. Invoice as required, refer to Creating an Invoice.

Where reallocation of time or disbursements to a different client needs to occur, bulk select the time and disbursements and click Bulk Update to select the client and job to reallocate to. Alternatively, this can be done for each entry individually in the respective Update drawer. Refer to Displaying and Updating Time and Disbursement Entries.

Step 4 - Review Process History and update any Custom Field details 

Navigate to the Client Workspace - Process History tab, and filter for "In Progress" processes for the client. Where required select processes and click Stop in the toolbar to terminate the process. Refer to Client Process History Checklist.

Identify any Custom Fields that are used to trigger Custom Processes and remove values against the Fields as relevant. Refer to Client Custom Fields

Step 5 - Ensure Documents are ready for Archiving 

Navigate to the Client Workspace - Documents tab.

If there are any documents still being edited, or co-edited documents both internally and with the client, where possible check these documents back in by clicking "I am Finished Editing". Refer to Opening, Editing and Finish Editing Documents.

Review any Draft Filed, Awaiting Approval and Pending Client Signature documentation and ensure steps are completed to file and action the documents as relevant. 

When the client is Archived, provided AutoArchive Documents is enabled in Practice Settings all the documents will be automatically moved to an Archived filing status. Refer to AutoArchive Client Documents.

Step 6 - Review Collaborate Sharing Settings

If the practice is using Collaborate to share documentation with the client, ensure the sharing settings are reviewed and terminated if required.

Navigate to the Client Workspace - Collaborate tab, select the user, and remove sharing permission. Refer to Removing Access to the New Collaborate Shared Folders.

Step 7 - Archive Client

Navigate to the Client Workspace - Summary tab for an individual Client, and select the "Edit Client" icon.
3313_Client_Edit_Client_icon.gif

Clicking Edit Client will display the option to Archive the client in the bottom right of the screen.

3314_Client_Maintenance_Archive_Client.gif

Click Archive to archive your client. The Archive Client pop-up will appear to confirm you want to archive the client.

3315_Client_Maintenance_Archive_confirmation.gif

Click Yes.

To access the client record in future, refer to Archived Clients. For practices using Xero Practice Manager, the client status will be updated and reflected accordingly in Xero Practice Manager record upon the next synchronisation.

If the Client has already been Archived before completing these steps

If using XPM, navigate to the client record in XPM, select Options and click Restore. The client record will sync overnight or a manual sync can be run in FYI to restore the client record. Refer to Synchronising Clients, Staff, Jobs, Time, Tax Returns with Xero Practice Manager.

When restored, follow the above steps. 

Note: If the AutoArchive Documents setting is enabled, the documents filing state will have been updated to "Archived". These will need to be manually updated to active if required, including any invoices. Refer to AutoArchive Client Documents.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful