Deleting and Voiding Invoices

Elite Only.png

Invoices can be either deleted or voided depending upon the status of the invoice in FYI and Xero. Refer to Invoicing Overview.

Invoices can be deleted when they are in the status of Draft or Draft in Xero. Invoices can be voided when they are Awaiting Payment.

Once an invoice has been paid, it can no longer be deleted or voided. 

Invoices can only be managed in FYI by practices on the Elite plan with FYI set as the Practice Manager source. Refer to Practice Management Sync.

Deleting an Invoice

Invoices with the status in FYI of Draft or Draft in Xero can be deleted.

  1. From the Client - Invoice list, select the invoice to display the Invoice Drawer.

    Note: This can be done from the Documents list, the Job - Invoices tab, or the Client Group and Client - Invoices tab.

    2912_Client_Invoices_tab_Invoice_Drawer.gif

  2. Click the Details heading to expand the section.

  3. Click the Edit or View button. The Update Invoice drawer will display.

  4. Scroll to the bottom and click Delete
    Note: Before clicking delete, if you would like to cancel this action you can close the drawer.  This can be done by pressing the X in the top-right-hand corner. If you would like to navigate to the previous Invoice drawer, click the back arrow.

    2913_Invoices_Drawer_Delete_button.gif

  5. Click Yes on the confirmation message.
    3057_Confirm_delete_invoice.gif

The invoice will be deleted from both FYI and Xero Ledger (if synchronised). All Time and Disbursement entries associated with the invoice will return to a "Submitted" status.

To display deleted invoices, refer to Displaying Deleted and Voided Invoices.

Void an Invoice

Invoices with the status of Awaiting Payment in FYI can be voided.

  1. From the Client - Invoice list, click the invoice to display the Invoice Drawer.

    Note: This can be done from the Documents list, the Job - Invoices tab, or the Client Group and Client - Invoices tab.

  2. Click the Details heading to expand the section.

  3. Click View. The Update Invoice drawer will be read only. As the invoice has been approved in Xero, the fields cannot be modified.

  4. Scroll to the bottom and click Void
    Note: Before clicking Void, if you would like to cancel this action you can close the drawer.  This can be done by pressing the X in the top-right hand corner. If you would like to navigate to the previous Invoice drawer, click the back arrow.

    2915_Invoice_Drawer_Void_Button.gif

  5. Click Yes on the confirmation message.
    3056_Confirm_void_invoice.gif

The invoice will be voided in both FYI and Xero Ledger.

Displaying Deleted and Voided Invoices

If a View or List has been set to hide Deleted and Voided invoices, the invoice will not be displayed. Click the Unhide Deleted and Voided invoices button in the toolbar to display Invoices with the Status of Deleted or Voided in the list.

2902_Invoice_List_Show_Deleted_Voided_Invoices.gif

To display all deleted and voided invoices for your practice. Refer to Practice - Invoices.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful