Features

Using Home - My Time

Plans - Pro.png

From your Home workspace, use the My Time tab to display the Individual Time Entries you have created in FYI along with any draft time entries that you have created using the Bulk Time Entry function.

Time Entries are displayed in your Home - My Time.

Displaying My Time as Group or List 3345_Elite_plan_Swish.png

For practices on the Elite plan, My Time can be displayed as a Group or List.

Click the List button in the top right-hand corner to display the Productivity Dashboard, allowing users to see actual and expected hours along with productivity targets. Refer to Using the Productivity Dashboard

3043_List_icon.gif

To re-display the workspace as a summary of draft and submitted time entries by date, click the Group button.

2761 Tasks Group button.gif

When navigating between the Group and List view and you log out or move to a different menu option in FYI, your choice of the Group or List view is automatically retained when you return to My Time.

Displaying Time Entries from the Group View  

When using the Group view, available for both the Pro and Elite plans, click on a date to display the time entries. The dates default to the current week. Click the start or end date to display the calendar to select a different date range.

The following is an example of practice on the FYI Pro plan. 

3043_My_Time_Elite_Plan.gif

The following is an example of a practice on the Elite plan. 

3043_My_Time_Elite_Plan.gif

The count in the My Time tab shows the count of Draft time entries that you have in the current week. This count is updated as you submit time entries.

3366_My_Time_tab.gif

Status
The current status of the Time entry. For detailed information on each Status refer to Creating Time Overview.

AutoTime 3345_Elite_plan_Swish.png
AutoTime entries are created with a Draft status and display the Automation icon on the right side of the line. 
1764 View Process Checklist Icon.gif

Summary of Totals for the Day

Next to the date, a summary displays:

  • The total time that has been submitted for that day.
  • The total of any Draft hours that have been entered
  • A count of the number of Draft entries.
  • A count of the In Progress timers for the day 3345_Elite_plan_Swish.png

As you add the hours to the time entries, this summary allows you to keep a running check on the total hours you have entered for a date.

The example below is for a practice on the Pro plan.

3044_My_time_display_summary.gif

The example below is for a practice on the Elite plan with two active Timers.

3044_My_time_Display_summary_elite.gif

In Progress Entries

In Progress entries are where a Timer has been started to track the time spent on a particular activity. Once the timer has been stopped, the Status will be updated to Draft. Paused timers will still show the status of "In Progress".

"In Progress" time entries can be edited, for example, to change the Client or Job.

  • Click the Pause button to temporarily suspend the timer.
  • Click Play to resume the timer.
  • Click the Stop button to end the timer and create a Draft Time entry.

Refer to Creating Time user the Timer.

3370_My_Time_In_Progress_Timers.gif

Submitted Time Entries

  • Changes can be made to Time that is "Submitted".
  • You can click the Open button to display the Time entry in the drawer.
  • To delete the Submitted Time entry, click the drop-down next to Open and select Delete.

3045_My_Time_delete_submitted_time_entry.gif

Xero Practice Manager Integration 3346_Pro_plan_Swish.png
Time entries with the Status set as "Submitted" are synchronised to Xero Practice Manager. Time entries are queued and can take up to 15 minutes to sync.

Syncing Time Entries 3346_Pro_plan_Swish.png

  • Time entries that have been submitted and are yet to synchronise with Xero Practice Manager display the status "Syncing".
  • No changes can be made to Time that is "Syncing".
  • Once synchronised, the status will automatically update to "Submitted"

2562_Time_entries_syncing_status.gif

After syncing, if a Time entry cannot be updated in Xero Practice Manager it will be automatically reset as Draft in FYI. This could be if the Job was set to "Completed" or "Cancelled" after adding the Time entry.

In this event, you can reopen the Job, or update the Time entry and change the selection of the Job, and submit the Time entry again.

Draft Time Entries

For a draft time entry, single-click the Time field directly in the My Time list to edit or add this.

1201_My_Time_Edit_Time.gif

Single-click the Notes field directly in the My Time list to edit or add this.

1082_Edit_Notes_in_Time.gif

Click the Submit button to update the status to Submitted. Once all required fields are complete, the Update button automatically displays as Submit, indicating the time entry is ready to be submitted.

You can click on the time entry to open the Update Time drawer to update the Time hours, Notes, Time Type, Rate, Client or Job.

To delete a Draft Time entry, click the drop-down next to Submit and select Delete.

3046_My_Time_Update_Time_Drawer.gif

Note: When the drawer is open, you can also display a different date and select a different Time entry from the list.

Using the Back Button
When the Update Time drawer is open, you can click on another draft Time Entry in the list to display it and leave the drawer open.

At the top of the Time drawer, the Back button can be used to re-display in turn the previously selected Time entries email or document in that list.

1185_Time_Back_Button.gif

Note: When the drawer is open, you can also display a different date and select a different Time entry.
Update Time is only displayed if the Time entry has not been submitted.

Xero Practice Manager Integration 3346_Pro_plan_Swish.png

If Workflow Jobs are enabled for your practice, and a Billing Job is selected in the Job drop-down, the corresponding Legacy Workflow Jobs are displayed for the XPM Task. If there is only one Legacy Workflow Job, this is automatically selected as the XPM Task for the Time entry. If a Legacy Workflow Job is selected, the XPM Task does not need to be selected.

If your practice does not have Workflow Jobs enabled, when creating or editing a Time entry for a Job if there is only one XPM Task for the Job it will be automatically selected for the Time entry.

Time Entries with no Job or Client

Draft or Submitted time entries displayed without a Client or Job indicate the time is non-productive,  such as General Admin, or capacity-reducing time such as Study Leave. Or the time may have been entered using Bulk Create Time Entries, and has not had the details updated yet.

3047_My_Time_no_client_or_job.gif

Deleting a Draft Time Entry

To delete a Draft time entry, click the drop-down next to Submit or Update and select Delete.

1139_Delete_Draft_Time.gif

Submitting all Draft Time Entries for a Day

From your My Time, you can click the Submit Drafts button to submit all the Draft time entries for that date that are complete. This changes the Status to "Submitted" for those time entries. Any entries that are not complete are left in the Draft status.

1095_Submit_Drafts.gif

The Submit Drafts button is only enabled if any draft time entries for that day are complete and ready to be submitted.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful