Before Upgrading to New Collaborate from Legacy Collaborate using OneDrive

Note: This article is only relevant to users upgrading from Legacy Collaborate using OneDrive. 

For practices new to using Collaborate, click here to view New Collaborate Setup Instructions.

New Collaborate offers much greater security and an enhanced client experience. 

The transition from Collaborate to New Collaborate requires several steps, both before and after, which we have covered below, and in the article After Migrating to New CollaborateDue to the upgraded security features, an automatic migration process was not available.

Plan for your Document Migration

Once you have configured New Collaborate, you will need to re-share your documents with your clients. This will re-upload the files to your new Collaborate Site and send new links to your clients to use.

There is no automatic process to transfer your documents from OneDrive to New Collaborate on SharePoint.

  • The Upload folder will no longer work on OneDrive, and files added by your clients will not be filed in FYI. By re-adding your clients to the Sharing Settings, your clients will be sent links to the new Upload folder.

  • You will need to re-share documents to upload files to the New Collaborate site. This will ensure the client can access everything they need in one location - your New Collaborate site.

Finish Documents in Client Co-Edit

Documents in Client Co-Edit mode will not be migrated automatically to the New Collaborate.

Before upgrading to New Collaborate you should click Finish Client Co-Editing on any documents in Co-Edit mode to upload the latest version to FYI and file the document accordingly. Once you have migrated, follow the instructions to re-share your documents with your clients.

1057

Documents that are still actively in Client Co-Edit mode are displayed in the Documents list with the Co-Edit icon.

1112

The Edit Status column on the Documents list can also be added and filtered to show only documents with a status of Co-edit. Refer to Adding, Removing and Moving Columns in the Documents Lists.

2828_Documents_Filter_Edit_Status_Client_Co-edit.gif

Documents are also displayed in the Collaborate tab. Refer to Client - Collaborate Tab.

Sharing your In Tray.

Next Steps: To continue setting up New Collaborate, as will already have a OneDrive Admin configured, skip to Step 3 - Setting up Microsoft 365 for New Collaborate.

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful