Features

Removing Access to the New Collaborate Shared Folders

You can remove access to the shared folders for all users or a specific user.

Note: If a document or client is archived, the client will continue to have access to the document or any shared folders unless the client is removed from the Sharing Settings.

Removing Access

For a Specific User

You can remove access for a specific user to the client folders and to all documents that were directly shared with the user with the Share button.

  1. Search for your client and select the Collaborate tab.

  2. From the Sharing Settings, click the X alongside the user you wish to remove access for.

    2689_Remove_Individual_User_from_Sharing_Settings.gif

  3. A message displays confirming you wish to disable sharing for the user.

  4. Click Yes to confirm. The Sharing Settings page will be reloaded.

  5. Close Sharing Settings.

If the guest user no longer has access to any client folders or documents shared with them, they will also be removed from Microsoft 365.

For all users with access to a Client Folder

  1. Search for your client and select the Collaborate tab.

  2. From the Sharing Settings, click the Delete Sharing.

    3224_Collaborate_Delete_Sharing_button.gif

  3. A message displays confirming you wish to disable sharing for all users and delete all shared documents.

  4. Click Yes to confirm. 

If the guest user no longer has access to any client folders or documents shared with them, they will also be removed from Microsoft 365.

Once Access has been Removed

Once access has been removed for a specific user, the user's name and email address are no longer displayed in Sharing Settings.

Should the user try to use the link, they will receive a message "Sorry, you don't have access".

1025_Collaborate_Access_removed.gif

User Removal is Locked

If the user has only just been added to the Sharing Settings, you will need to wait 15 minutes before they can be removed. 

When trying to remove the user, if it has been less than 15 minutes, they X button will be disabled. Hovering over the X, a message will be displayed to show the time and date the user will be able to be removed.

3211_Collaborate_Sharing_Removal_Locked.gif

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 1 found this helpful